Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on March 16, 2017, 02:05:51 PM
-
Are artifacts in my oppoment's territory targetable for cards that target artifacts for discard, shuffle, underdeck, or whatever (such as DoN, Faith of Moses, Table of Demons) IF the artifact is not activated (so long as the card targeting the artifact doesn't say something like "an active artifact")?
-
Face-down artifacts in the artifact pile are not considered in play. They can only be targeted by cards that specifically target the artifact pile.
-
Are you sure about that? The cards may not be active but they are in territory which is considered in-play. And when I asked The Guardian before if Desc. the Temple could discard a face down artifact if there wasn't one in play or the other conditions of DtT he said it could be targeted by DtT.
-
The only part of my statement that I am not sure about is the in play part. They may still be considered in play (I don't know) but they definitely cannot be targeted by cards that don't specify the artifact pile. Face-down cards anywhere cannot be targeted by cards that don't specify them. Example: You cannot target an Ambush'd hero with Christian Martyr while it's still face down even though you know it's a hero and it's in territory or battle.
Split Altar is a good example of this. It was intended to shuffle ALL artifacts of each opponent but because it doesn't specify the artifact pile it only shuffles the active artifacts they have.
-
Face down artifacts are "in territory" but they are not in play. A card that discards a card "in opponent's territory" could discard a face down artifact.
-
I wasn't aware of that distinction. Has that always been the case or is that a recent change?
-
A card that discards a card "in opponent's territory" could discard a face down artifact.
The REG seems to disagree, if I'm reading this right.
Face Down
Face Down cards are cards in territories, battle, and set-aside areas that are face down either due to special ability, or are inactive artifacts in an artifact pile. Face down cards have no abilities, brigade, titles, or identifiers while they are face down. The only known attribute of a face down card is the card type. Face down cards are only targetable by abilities that specify they can target face down cards or inactive artifacts, or cards that can target any or all cards in a location. When a face down card enters battle, it is immediately flipped face up, unless otherwise specified by the special ability that flipped it face down.
DtT doesn't meet any of the bolded criteria, so it shouldn't be able to target a face-down art.