Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master KChief on January 26, 2010, 01:44:33 PM
-
is there any rule that says i am not allowed to discard down to less than 8 cards in my hand during my discard phase? for instance, if i have 5 cards in my hand going into my discard phase, can i discard down to 1 if i so choose?
-
Yes, you may.
-
what? :o
is this true?
Zubulan ftw
-
The rulebook:
"After you have completed all the actions you choose, you must reduce the cards in your hand to eight or less. If you have eight or fewer cards in your hand, then you should announce that you are finished. If you have more than eight cards in your hand, then you should reduce the cards in your hand down to eight or fewer by discarding cards from your hand face up on the top of your discard pile."
The number is always paired with "less" or "fewer", so you can discard to 7, or 3, or 0.4, or whatever you want, as long as it's no more than 8.
-
That quote made it sound like if you already had less than eight, you could not discard...
-
It does, but that isn't the rule. In your discard phase, you may discard as many cards as you want.
-
how awesome!!!
-
How did this make it as game mechanic? o_O :scratch:
-
i asked this a long time ago when love at first sight first came out. i got the affirmative answer then...just wanted to see if it is still true today. mayhem benefits from this mostly.
-
i have played this wrong my whole redemption career...
-
+1
-
i have played this wrong my whole redemption career...
We have actually played it the correct way my entire career, BUT I've always tried to convince my younger players to keep 8 cards in their hand during discard. Most of the time they put down all of their characters, arts, forts, etc, leaving only enhancements in their hands. :laugh: