Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on March 28, 2010, 02:40:45 PM

Title: Discard that card!
Post by: Crashfach2002 on March 28, 2010, 02:40:45 PM
This is probably a stupid question but I wanted to make sure I knew the ruling!

Say my opponent plays Job Overcomes and I have to discard an evil card.  If I only have my one brigade evil character in play and only a negate in hand, can I choose to discard my character, then because it is my intitive because of removal then use my negate to negate the discarding of my character?

Job Overcomes
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Blue • Ability: 2 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: For each evil brigade your opponent has in play, that opponent must discard an evil card from hand or battle. You may draw a card. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Job 42:10 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Common)

Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on March 28, 2010, 02:46:17 PM
That is a good question but i belive that since you chose to discard it, you wouldn't get intitive from it.
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: ChristianSoldier on March 28, 2010, 03:05:57 PM
I would think you would because its still your opponent's card discarding it
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: Crashfach2002 on March 28, 2010, 04:04:39 PM
I would think you would because its still your opponent's card discarding it

Yeah, because I also asked if you discarded a demon because of Job Overcomes would it go to your Tartaros, and the response was no.  Yes you discarded it but, your opponent made you so it wasn't technically you that did it.
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: Korunks on March 29, 2010, 08:34:56 AM
I would rule that you have initiative to negate.  When you are losing the battle by removal, that you did not cause(which in this case applies, you may have chosen the target, but your opponent pulls the trigger) you always have initiative to negate.
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on March 30, 2010, 01:58:16 PM
I don't think that you would. I mean if you have a choice to pick something, you could pick the other one. If you pick the ec in battle, your opponent isn't forcing you to remove it. You CHOSE to remove it. you could have gotten rid of another thing to keep it but you didn't. So bascially you chose to discard that card.
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: Crashfach2002 on March 30, 2010, 02:00:46 PM
But that comes back to the me choosing to discard one of my own demons, but it doesn't count for Tartaros purposes though.
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 30, 2010, 04:51:32 PM
You merely chose the target, your opponent still Discarded the card.
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: BubbleBoy on March 30, 2010, 05:54:42 PM
You merely chose the target, your opponent still Discarded the card.
+1

The wording on this can be quite confusing, but this is the way it's played.
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: Crashfach2002 on March 30, 2010, 10:02:35 PM
So I can play a negate if I choose my evil character for discard?
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: Professoralstad on March 31, 2010, 12:39:57 AM
So I can play a negate if I choose my evil character for discard?

I would rule that you could.
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: STAMP on March 31, 2010, 01:26:23 PM
So I can play a negate if I choose my evil character for discard?

I would rule that you could.

+1
Title: Re: Discard that card!
Post by: Crashfach2002 on March 31, 2010, 03:36:02 PM
OK, thanks guys, I thought I had that ruled right, just wanted to make sure!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal