Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on November 30, 2009, 11:20:10 PM

Title: Discard or Remove?
Post by: Crashfach2002 on November 30, 2009, 11:20:10 PM
I am playing a multi-player game.  One player has Thirty Pieces of Silver activated.  I make a rescue attempt.  My opponent blocks and plays Joseph in Prison.  Does my hero get removed because of the enhancement, or does the artifact take over a discard my hero instead?


Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Regardless of battle outcome Hero is discarded. "David's Harp" has no effect. May be used twice. • Play As: Once per turn, discard one Hero in play used in a rescue attempt or battle challenge against you after that battle. Negate David’s Harp. May be used once per battle and twice per game. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Matthew 26:15-16 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Ultra Rare)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Interrupt the battle and remove all cards in battle from the game. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Genesis 39:20 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Ultra Rare)
Title: Re: Discard or Remove?
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on November 30, 2009, 11:25:57 PM
JiP because it is during battle and 30 says after battle
Title: Re: Discard or Remove?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on November 30, 2009, 11:38:43 PM
The hero is removed and 30PoS gains a counter.
Title: Re: Discard or Remove?
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on November 30, 2009, 11:50:59 PM
How does 30 gain a counter if the conditions aren't met? That is like using ark when the character is already discarded.
Title: Re: Discard or Remove?
Post by: browarod on December 01, 2009, 12:02:08 AM
Regardless of whether 30 actually discards anything, having it active for a turn counts as a use.
Title: Re: Discard or Remove?
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 01, 2009, 09:59:59 AM
But the Play as has "May" in it which means you trigger it. So if you don't want to use it, you don't have to.
Title: Re: Discard or Remove?
Post by: browarod on December 01, 2009, 10:06:39 AM
The may seems more to be clarifying the uses (i.e.: it can be used once per battle and twice per game), but as I said having it active counts as a use whether or not it discards anything. I believe Ark works the same way.
Title: Re: Discard or Remove?
Post by: Korunks on December 01, 2009, 10:09:10 AM
Quote
The may seems more to be clarifying the uses (i.e.: it can be used once per battle and twice per game), but as I said having it active counts as a use whether or not it discards anything. I believe Ark works the same way.

I believe that is why I rarely see anyone use them anymore, because they are not as useful.
Title: Re: Discard or Remove?
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 01, 2009, 10:17:32 AM
The may seems more to be clarifying the uses (i.e.: it can be used once per battle and twice per game), but as I said having it active counts as a use whether or not it discards anything. I believe Ark works the same way.

If it does, it was ruled wrong at the last tournament I was at then. I don't see how you have to add a counter when conditions aren't met for the card to used.
Title: Re: Discard or Remove?
Post by: browarod on December 01, 2009, 10:19:25 AM
The may seems more to be clarifying the uses (i.e.: it can be used once per battle and twice per game), but as I said having it active counts as a use whether or not it discards anything. I believe Ark works the same way.

If it does, it was ruled wrong at the last tournament I was at then. I don't see how you have to add a counter when conditions aren't met for the card to used.
As far as I know, they both consume one use when active for a turn regardless of if they end up discarding anything or not.
Title: Re: Discard or Remove?
Post by: redemptioncousin on December 01, 2009, 10:41:34 AM
As long as there is a battle they are used, regardless of d/c or not.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal