Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Sean on November 01, 2009, 12:58:00 PM

Title: Desectrate the Temple?
Post by: Sean on November 01, 2009, 12:58:00 PM
How does Desecrate the Temple (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/desecratethetemple.htm) work if the only Artifact of an opponent is protected? There is no Temple or good Dominant in opponent's territory either.

If Temple of Nisroch is in my opponent's Storehouse, can I discard it with DtT?
Title: Re: Desectrate the Temple?
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on November 01, 2009, 01:03:08 PM
Hmmmmm...... Based upon the wording 'if there is none' I would say that you can't discard anything, because he has one, you just can't target it.

As far as the second question, I would say no also - IMO Temple is a subclass of Fortress that includes Z's Temple, Solomon's Temple and The Tabernacle. (This is also clearly the intent of the card)
Title: Re: Desectrate the Temple?
Post by: Sean on November 01, 2009, 01:05:00 PM
The Tabernacle is definitely not a Temple.  Also, what about Temple of Dagon?
Title: Re: Desectrate the Temple?
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on November 01, 2009, 01:14:02 PM
I wasn't thinking of Temple of Dagon simply because I never see it played, but yes I would include it in that category. I guess I was thinking of the good Fortress' that hold artifacts, which is why I included Tabernacle.
Title: Re: Desectrate the Temple?
Post by: Gabe on November 01, 2009, 01:22:44 PM
It was rules some time ago that Temple of Dagon is in fact a temple for the purpose of discarding with Desecrate the Temple.

For the original question, you could also translate "if there are none" to mean "if there are no Artifact, Temple or Dominants that you can legally choose/target. 

If I had to rule on it at a tournament today that would be my position.  I don't really feel strongly about it either way though.  It's a very rare situation that either of these would actually matter.
Title: Re: Desectrate the Temple?
Post by: Professoralstad on November 02, 2009, 11:16:23 AM
I agree with RDT. Desecrate the Temple targets opponent's only Temple, Artifact, or Good Dominant. If that target is protected, nothing happens to it. The second part kicks in ("if there are none..."). Since there is an Artifact/Temple/Dominant there, the condition is unfulfilled. So nothing happens at all (except the EC gaining 3/3).
Title: Re: Desectrate the Temple?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on November 02, 2009, 11:35:00 AM
I agree with RDT and Prof.


Title: Re: Desectrate the Temple?
Post by: Minister Polarius on November 02, 2009, 01:10:53 PM
"If there are none" in game terminology could just as easily mean "if there are no targets." We need a PTB ruling.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal