Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Cameron the Conqueror on June 11, 2009, 12:42:04 PM

Title: Desecrating the Temple: In Play or Not In Play
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on June 11, 2009, 12:42:04 PM
Here is the question:


I make a RA and my opponent blocks and plays Desecrate the Temple.  I do not have an active artifact, but I do have 2 face down artifacts (and no Temples or dominants.)  Here is my question: Does a face down artifact satisfy DtT?  At first glance, most would say no because those face down arts are not in play.  However, this thread (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=16176.msg252987#msg252987) (and Schaef's ruling that it references) seems, IMO, to state otherwise.

Here is the pertinant quote:

Quote
From Gabe: Since the Artifact Pile is a location that resides in your territory, and a Covenant or Curse keeps it's allignment in the Artifact Pile I would think that discarding a face down Covenant to satisfy the "FOOF Discarder LS" would be a legal play.
This quote from Gabe is a backup of Schaef's unsure ruling.


My example to suggest it does is A New Beginning.  We all know ANB shuffles face down artifacts, yet it only specifies "in field of play".  It does not specifically target not in play artifacts, but yet it still shuffles them.  Using this example, I would suggest that a face down artifact satisfies DtT.  I believe it is important to remember that DtT does NOT say "discard 1 of opponent's Artifact, Temple or good Dominant in play", but instead targets the entire "opponent's territory".



Experienced imput would be much appreciated as this card cares much power. ;)  The question is: does "in territory" = "in play"?  I think not.


Quote
Desecrate the Temple

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Crimson • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: If used by a Babylonian, discard an Artifact, Temple or good Dominant in opponent's territory. If there are none, discard one from opponent's deck instead. • Identifiers: None • Verse: II Kings 25:13-15 • Availability: Rock of Ages (Set 12)
Quote
A New Beginning

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: 4 / 5 • Class: None • Errata: If making a rescue attempt, ALL players shuffle ALL cards in the field of play, set-aside areas and their hands back into their draw pile. Only cards in Land of Redemption and discard piles remain. ALL players draw 8 new cards. Holder may begin a new turn. [Note: The new turn begins when the new hands are drawn.] • Identifiers: None • Verse: Genesis 8:15-17 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Ultra Rare)
Title: Re: Desecrating the Temple: In Play or Not In Play
Post by: Captain Kirk on June 11, 2009, 01:00:13 PM
Desecrate the Temple cannot target face-down artifacts, much like Split Altar cannot shuffle face-down artifacts.  Therefore, your opponent can search your deck for a temple, dominant, or artifact to discard.

Kirk
Title: Re: Desecrating the Temple: In Play or Not In Play
Post by: Minister Polarius on June 11, 2009, 01:47:17 PM
Fortunately. This card would be completely ruined otherwise.
Title: Re: Desecrating the Temple: In Play or Not In Play
Post by: Gabe on June 11, 2009, 02:31:52 PM
Desecrate the Temple cannot target face-down artifacts, much like Split Altar cannot shuffle face-down artifacts.  Therefore, your opponent can search your deck for a temple, dominant, or artifact to discard.

Kirk

I'm not saying that Kirk is right or wrong about the final ruling on targeting the Artifact Pile by cards that specify "territory" as the location of their targets but...

Quote from: Split Altar
Shuffle all Artifacts of each opponent into owners’ deck. You may play the next Enhancement. Cannot be negated.

Split Altar only specifies all Artifacts so the default is in play (in this case active Artifacts).  That's not really the best example to compare Desecrate the Temple with since their wording isn't the same.

I do recall there being a lengthy discussion on Desecrate the Temple and friends.  Now where did that other thread go....

Ah, here it is.   (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=11978.0)
Title: Re: Desecrating the Temple: In Play or Not In Play
Post by: crustpope on June 11, 2009, 02:53:24 PM
I read that entire thread and it doenst seem like it offers a clear one way or the other ruling on Desecrate the Temple.

That thread does talk about Split Altar targeting only active artifacts, but since Desecrate the Temple mentions in territory (much like ANB mentions Field of Play) does that enable Desecrate the Temple to target facedown artifacts to fulfill its SA?

Is there an official consensus on this?
Title: Re: Desecrating the Temple: In Play or Not In Play
Post by: Captain Kirk on June 11, 2009, 02:54:05 PM
Alright, maybe I didn't give the best comparison.  A Look Back cannot discard a face down hero in territory, even though it specifies "territory" as the location of its target much like Desecrate the Temple cannot discarda  face down artifact in territory.

Kirk
Title: Re: Desecrating the Temple: In Play or Not In Play
Post by: SirNobody on June 11, 2009, 03:26:41 PM
Hey,

Desecrating the Temple cannot discard a face down artifact.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Desecrating the Temple: In Play or Not In Play
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on June 11, 2009, 05:41:59 PM
ok, thanks for the input.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal