Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on September 22, 2009, 01:02:21 PM

Title: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: Crashfach2002 on September 22, 2009, 01:02:21 PM
It's ability is "If a lone Hero begins a rescue attempt against you, you may discard one of your demons in your territory to shuffle this card back into owner's draw pile."  If I use the demon that lets me exchange it with another Evil Character and I take another players demon.  Can I then discard that demon since I control it to complete the special ability?
Title: Re: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on September 22, 2009, 01:05:38 PM
Yep.  That fits the criteria of "your".  Unsure, keep reading.
Title: Re: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: Crashfach2002 on September 22, 2009, 01:23:10 PM
Sweet, I thought that was right!  Well I'm still hoping that is right!
Title: Re: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: TimMierz on September 22, 2009, 01:32:48 PM
I don't believe that's correct. "Your" implies both control AND ownership, the latter of which you do not have.
Title: Re: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on September 22, 2009, 01:44:07 PM
After reading though the REG, it does seem that Tim is correct.  Sorry for misleading you, I thought for sure "your" was satisfied with SWS because the exchange was permanent, not temp like banding or Stalks.


Your
Several cards in Redemption® refer to cards that are “your” cards (e.g., your Priest, your Heroes, your demons, your warrior-class Evil Character, ). The possession and control of a card is implied by the use of the word “your”.


Control

You control a character when you are using it. You can control a character that you do not own. This happens when you band to an opponent’s character and use it in battle. You also con­trol a character when your opponent forces you to use a character that you do not own.
(I assume control can also mean exchange like with SWS.)


However, there isn't a defined definition for "possession".  Could we get one?  It doesn't mean the exact same thing as ownership.
Title: Re: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: SirNobody on September 22, 2009, 02:31:22 PM
Hey,

I believe the answer to the original question is yes.  Although I have no evidence to back it up.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on September 22, 2009, 02:46:08 PM
Hey,

I believe the answer to the original question is yes.  Although I have no evidence to back it up.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly

Yay for another person who has a gut feeling but no proof. :(
Title: Re: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: Bryon on September 22, 2009, 03:10:31 PM
Does "exchange" change ownership?  I didn't think so, since you always return cards to "owner's" deck.

Does "your demon" mean a demon you control and own?  Or control and possess (like after an exchange)?

Can you possess a demon?  Ha
Title: Re: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on September 22, 2009, 06:09:51 PM
Can you possess a demon?  Ha

http://instantrimshot.com/ (http://instantrimshot.com/)
Title: Re: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: lightningninja on September 22, 2009, 09:03:13 PM
Wait... So Bryon doesn't know!?!? The Sky is falling, the sky is falling!

But I don't think so. Gabe says that "your" means both posession and ownership, I asked him about this for another ruling question I had a little bit ago.
Title: Re: Demon Discard Lost Soul
Post by: Gabe on September 22, 2009, 11:24:36 PM
But I don't think so. Gabe says that "your" means both posession and ownership, I asked him about this for another ruling question I had a little bit ago.

That's the way that SWS was ruled after FOOF came out.  I no longer recall the specific question and it's since been purged from the forum. 

So that's the way it was ruled once, but as we all know rules/rulings in Redemption change from time to time.  Until there's something official to contradict the original ruling I'm going to assume it was correct.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal