Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SignoftheStar on October 21, 2014, 02:17:32 PM

Title: Deck Building: Enhancements
Post by: SignoftheStar on October 21, 2014, 02:17:32 PM
A Type I player is not allowed more than one of a given Enhancement with a special ability per 50 cards in his deck. However, what if an Enhancement has the same name as another but the special ability is different? Specifically, can a 50-card deck in Type I run both the J Deck Evil Strength (Negate and discard the last Enhancement played in battle.) AND the Early Church Evil Strength (Interrupt the battle and underdeck your Human to underdeck a Lost Soul from the same testament into its owner's deck.)?
Title: Re: Deck Building: Enhancements
Post by: LukeChips on October 21, 2014, 03:08:34 PM
If they have the same card art then no. But if the card art is different then yes. At least that's what I remember from the rules.
Title: Re: Deck Building: Enhancements
Post by: SignoftheStar on October 21, 2014, 04:56:03 PM
So the generic Character rule also applies to all Enhancements?
Title: Re: Deck Building: Enhancements
Post by: Minion of Jesus on October 21, 2014, 05:00:40 PM
Pretty much, yeah.
Title: Re: Deck Building: Enhancements
Post by: SignoftheStar on October 21, 2014, 05:11:43 PM
Alright then. Thanks for the answers, guys.
Title: Re: Deck Building: Enhancements
Post by: Praeceps on October 21, 2014, 05:20:47 PM
Unless this has been answered without the FAQ being updated, the question is in the air. The link in the FAQ shows that the old ruling was no, but then Gabe posted saying that the elders agreed it was yes. So it's still sorta unclear as that hasn't been updated nor has the REG gained this information, afaik.
Title: Re: Deck Building: Enhancements
Post by: SignoftheStar on October 21, 2014, 05:48:11 PM
Then I'm glad I kept this unlocked.
Title: Re: Deck Building: Enhancements
Post by: Redoubter on October 21, 2014, 06:17:57 PM
Quote from: REG
Duplicate Cards
No player may control duplicates of a unique character or cause them to fight each other. This includes unique characters in play, in battle, in a side battle, face down, or in a set-aside area. Character cards with the same card title and the same art or with the same title and the same brigade are considered duplicates for deck building purposes. A player may have only control one of these at any time. The only exception to this rule is non-unique characters with different card art.
Some character cards have different card titles, but are the same character. A player may have only one of these in your territory, in battle, in a side battle, face down, or set-aside at a time:
Whore of Babylon (L) or Whore of Babylon (UL) or Babylon the Great (Wa), Morg (AW) or Morgan (AW), Saul (Ap) or Paul (Ap), Esau (Pa) or Esau the Hunter (F)
All Artifact, Covenant, Curse, and Fortress cards are considered unique. A player may control only one of these at any time. However, unique Artifact, Covenant, and Curse cards can be duplicated face down in the Artifact pile.
The Tabernacle (Pi), Solomon's Temple (Pa), Solomon's Temple (XXVI), Zerubbabel’s Temple (FF), and Herod's Temple (Di) are considered the same unique Fortress. You may have no more than one in play (or set aside) at a time.

Quote from: 4th Edition Rulebook
Defining Duplicate Cards:
Same Title + Same Art = Same Card.
Cards with the same title and same art are considered duplicates. For example, Saph (black brigade) and Saph (gray brigade) are duplicates. Since they have special abilities, you are allowed only 1 Saph in a deck of fewer than 100 cards.
• Same Title + Same Brigade = Same Card (except generic characters with different art).
Cards with the same title and same brigade are considered duplicates. For example, John (purple brigade, deck J) and John (purple brigade, deck H), and John (purple brigade, promo) are duplicates. Since they have special abilities, you are allowed only 1 John in a deck of fewer than 100 cards. The only exception to this rule is generic characters with different art.
For example, you can have 4 different versions of Sadducees in your deck, since they are generic characters with different art.
• Different Art + Different Brigade = Different Card.
Cards that have the same title are not considered duplicates for deck building if their art and brigade are different. For example, you can have one Peter (purple brigade) and one Peter (red brigade) in your deck. However, since Peter is a unique character, you can only have one in play at a time.

The examples given for both are still characters (as with the previous iterations of the rule), but the REG only notes that "character" cards have this rule apply.  As the REG is supposed to 'add to and modify' the rulebook, I would need to stick with that for my current rulings.  This is also consistent with rulings we have had from Elders in the past.

However, we do need to have this addressed and get a final answer.  It does matter for Gibeonite Trickery, Evil Strength, Kindness, and more.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal