Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jeremystair on May 09, 2017, 10:20:04 AM

Title: Death
Post by: Jeremystair on May 09, 2017, 10:20:04 AM
The new revelation of John death/fourth seal when does death activate on my turn the opponent's turn or is it a constant activation?
Title: Re: Death
Post by: Kevinthedude on May 09, 2017, 10:30:21 AM
The hand reduction ability is an ongoing effect that begins as soon as he enters territory.
Title: Re: Death
Post by: The Guardian on May 09, 2017, 10:40:10 AM
^Correct, but keep in mind that "change hand size abilities" only come into effect during each opponent's discard phase where the hand limit is 8 by default. Death does not limit an opponent's hand size during other phases of his turn or his opponents' turns.
Title: Re: Death
Post by: Jeremystair on May 09, 2017, 10:41:33 AM
Thanks, I thought it activated during discard but wanted to make sure
Title: Re: Death
Post by: The Guardian on May 09, 2017, 10:48:29 AM
Just to avoid confusion, Death activates when it's put in territory. However, the effect "kicks in" so to speak during each opponent's discard phase.
Title: Re: Death
Post by: Jeremystair on February 15, 2018, 10:14:05 AM
If the new fourth seal/death enters battle and then you play death of unrighteous on him to shuffle The Lost Souls and discard him does his ability still reduce your opponent's hand size at the end of their turn?
Title: Re: Death
Post by: wmd1999 on February 15, 2018, 10:21:15 AM
If the new fourth seal/death enters battle and then you play death of unrighteous on him to shuffle The Lost Souls and discard him does his ability still reduce your opponent's hand size at the end of their turn?

My understanding would be that it does not trigger because, while it activated in the battle phase, it is no longer in play during your opponent's discard phase and, therefore, doesn't activate.
Title: Re: Death
Post by: Jeremystair on February 15, 2018, 10:24:23 AM
That was my understanding too but I wasn't sure. Hopefully one of the elders will give us good clarification.
Title: Re: Death
Post by: The Guardian on February 15, 2018, 10:41:22 AM

My understanding would be that it does not trigger because, while it activated in the battle phase, it is no longer in play during your opponent's discard phase and, therefore, doesn't activate.

This is correct.
Title: Re: Death
Post by: Jeremystair on February 15, 2018, 10:41:55 AM
Thanks
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal