Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: megamanlan on June 13, 2017, 05:32:16 PM

Title: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: megamanlan on June 13, 2017, 05:32:16 PM
I was just rereading Death & Hades (as I didn't pull a Fourth Seal/Death yet) and I think it works differently from what I initially thought...

Death & Hades
8/8 Pale Green Evil Character
Rev 6:8
Reduce Opponent's Hand to 7 cards until this character is discarded (or 9 cards if rescuer has Tables of the Law active)

1. Based on the prehistoric wording, I get the feeling that this lets me not just reduce the Hand Limit, but also just Discard random cards until they have 7?

2. Does this count as "Death" for Four Horsemen?
Title: Re: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: Jeremystair on June 13, 2017, 05:42:04 PM
Send me a message with your address and I'll send out a copy of Fourth seal/death.
Title: Re: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: kariusvega on June 13, 2017, 05:48:48 PM
(https://i.imgflip.com/1qu5g6.jpg)
Title: Re: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: Jeremystair on June 13, 2017, 06:55:33 PM
I sent the card out today you should have it in a couple of days.
Title: Re: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: megamanlan on June 13, 2017, 10:24:03 PM
Thanks! In the meantime, I'm still interested if it works as how I'm reading it.
Title: Re: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: megamanlan on June 14, 2017, 02:31:24 AM
1. If you tried to discard cards from my hand until I have 7 with D & H, and the host let you for some reason, I'd just take those cards back once D & H is discarded. :P

2. I would say it counts as Death for the horsemen

The reason I'm looking at that is it doesn't say "Hand Limit", so I want to claim that it would not just drop your limit to 7, but also drop your Hand to 7 as well.
Title: Re: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 14, 2017, 09:19:30 AM
This has been discussed before, and Gabe pointed out that "Change Hand Size" is now in the REG. This entry specifies that limiting a player's hand size only limits the maximum number of cards that the player can have at the end of their turn.
Title: Re: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: The Guardian on June 14, 2017, 11:31:30 AM
Shocking what you can discover when you take the time to look things up the REG... ::)

I'm not saying it's perfect, but it's come a long ways... 8)

And yes, Death and Death & Hades are the same unique character.
Title: Re: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: megamanlan on June 14, 2017, 01:43:51 PM
The reason why I asked is because I thought I remembered a version of D&H that said "Hand Size" or "Hand Limit" but the one I have doesn't say that. So I thought it worth asking.

And I was guessing so, but wanted to be sure.
Title: Re: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 15, 2017, 02:21:12 PM
The reason why I asked is because I thought I remembered a version of D&H that said "Hand Size" or "Hand Limit" but the one I have doesn't say that. So I thought it worth asking.

And I was guessing so, but wanted to be sure.

It was still a good question. I just remembered the answer since I was equally shocked that a "Change Hand Size" entry was even in the REG. I never would have thought to look for it.  ;)
Title: Re: Death & Hades (Wa)
Post by: The Guardian on June 16, 2017, 01:13:42 PM
The reason why I asked is because I thought I remembered a version of D&H that said "Hand Size" or "Hand Limit" but the one I have doesn't say that. So I thought it worth asking.

And I was guessing so, but wanted to be sure.

It was still a good question. I just remembered the answer since I was equally shocked that a "Change Hand Size" entry was even in the REG. I never would have thought to look for it.  ;)

You're a math teacher... aren't the answers to the "odd" questions always in the back of the book?  :rollin:
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal