Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SomeKittens on March 01, 2011, 05:04:21 PM

Title: Death and Hades
Post by: SomeKittens on March 01, 2011, 05:04:21 PM
Death & Hades (Wa)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Pale Green • Ability: 8 / 8 • Class: None • Special Ability: Reduce opponent's hand to 7 cards until this character is discarded (or 9 cards if rescuer has Tables of the Law activated). • Play As: Your hand size is -1. • Identifiers: NT Male Demon • Verse: Revelation 6:8 • Availability: Warriors booster packs (Rare)

According to my reading of the Play As, it sets the variable "hand size" to -1, which doesn't seem possible.
Remember, this is a card game...not a scientific experiment.  :P

Yes, this is a real question.  Also: Greatest Zeb deck ever.
Title: Re: Death and Hades
Post by: Professoralstad on March 01, 2011, 06:43:14 PM
That Play As is one of the ones that needs an update to make it clearer. It's supposed to be interpreted as: "Your hand size is 1 less than it would normally be."
Title: Re: Death and Hades
Post by: SomeKittens on March 01, 2011, 06:58:15 PM
So, if I have 11 cards in hand, and my opponent blocks with DnH, do I:
A.) Immediately discard my hand down to 7
B.) At the end of my turn, reduce my hand to 7

Title: Re: Death and Hades
Post by: soul seeker on March 01, 2011, 07:03:12 PM
End of your turn
Title: Re: Death and Hades
Post by: Professoralstad on March 01, 2011, 07:12:55 PM
End of your turn

Correct
Title: Re: Death and Hades
Post by: Crashfach2002 on March 01, 2011, 08:28:28 PM
If Death & Hades is still around of course.
Title: Re: Death and Hades
Post by: The M on March 01, 2011, 09:06:49 PM
Unless you negated his ability wouldn't it work for the turn?
Or if you are discarded in a different phase for an ability that is supposed to work later would it be negated or not?
Or would it cancel out that phase?
Title: Re: Death and Hades
Post by: SomeKittens on March 01, 2011, 11:59:26 PM
It's because of the (until character is discarded) part.  Hope you've got a KotW handy.
Title: Re: Death and Hades
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 02, 2011, 12:13:49 AM
or u could remove your own death and hades with freedom
Title: Re: Death and Hades
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on March 02, 2011, 12:51:16 AM
Something else that is missing from the play as:

"opponent's"
Title: Re: Death and Hades
Post by: SomeKittens on March 02, 2011, 08:20:31 AM
Also: Greatest Zeb deck ever.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal