Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Unnamed on September 26, 2016, 10:12:44 AM
-
Just looking through old Warriors cards and found this one:
Death and Hades: Reduce opponent's hand to 7 cards until this character is discarded (or 9 if rescuer has Tables of the Law activated).
If I am reading the ability right and it doesn't have an errata, this would mean that your opponent's hand limit would be restricted to 7 cards, right?
-
Yes, until the character is discarded, or if the special ability is prevented/negated.
-
I'm surprised that there is no errata yet. The ruling had always been that the limit only applies to Discard Phase, hence the reference to Tables of the Law. Does anyone really rule this as a hand limit ability during other phases?
-
YMT is correct in that what he said is how it has been ruled. I still say that this is not what it says it does, though.
-
Woof.
This is the kind of stuff you have to not tell anyone until you show up at nationals with a broken card no one knows about! ;D
-
Except this one was ruled the way YMT did during either sealed or booster I can't remember which one.
-
So can we get an official ruling on this and the reasoning for it? Because I don’t understand why it would be ruled to only apply to discard phase, as that is not part of the ability. And if it’s a restrict or protect, it would be an ongoing ability.
-
Change Hand Size
General Description
A change hand size ability changes the maximum hand size a player is allowed at the end of each of their discard phases.
How to Play
A change hand size ability targets the player and alters their maximum end-turn hand size allowed, which is 8 by game rule. It can set the new maximum to a specific card count or increase or decrease the maximum. No matter the change, this only refers to the size of a hand at the end of that particular player’s Discard Phase.
A change hand size ability is ongoing.
Default Conditions
● If the change hand size ability does not indicate that it increases or decreases maximum end-turn hand by a particular amount, but rather gives a new maximum, then it sets that maximum as the new hand size, regardless of any other change hand size abilities which may already be in effect.
● A change hand size ability lasts until the end of the current phase.
Special Conditions
● A change hand size ability does not alter the maximum number of cards allowed in a hand at any particular time (see Hand), it only changes the maximum allowed at the end of the targeted player’s Discard Phase.
-
When Death & Hades and Tables of the Law (the only cards that effect hand size) were printed, there was no such thing as a hand cap outside of discard phase. It makes less since to retroactively apply a meaning the cards could not possibly have had than to codify their intent (as long as it is a valid plain reading of the card).
-
I can honestly say that if I was making a ruling on Death & Hades, never in a million years would I have known to look for "Change Hand Size" in the REG.