Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RTSmaniac on October 22, 2013, 03:53:23 PM

Title: Davids Harp
Post by: RTSmaniac on October 22, 2013, 03:53:23 PM
21   DavidsHarp   David's Harp   -   1 Samuel 16:23   -   A   Following a rescue attempt holder may select one Hero that is about to be discarded and place Hero on top of owner's draw pile.   N

I'm confused about the wording on this card? Is it an instead ability, interrupt?
Title: Re: Davids Harp
Post by: browarod on October 22, 2013, 04:01:09 PM
It definitely doesn't interrupt and I don't think it's an instead. It behaves more like a Heal (that topdecks it instead of returning it to territory).

Reasoning for my above thoughts: It only works on discard, not capture or withdraw or convert or topdeck/underdeck or return to hand, so it doesn't interrupt or instead. Older healing cards use the "about to be discarded" wording.

:2cents:
Title: Re: Davids Harp
Post by: RTSmaniac on October 22, 2013, 10:02:07 PM
It seems like an instead ability to me, but instead abilities usually have a cost associated with the benefit so, just wondering after reading the card...
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal