Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: asrgimli on July 28, 2014, 04:20:31 PM
-
I feel like I've seen a ruling on this before, but I can't remember where and my search doesn't reveal anything that I could find, so I'm going to ask this. When Damsel draws for each brigade color revealed, is each card drawn considered a draw ability, thus capable of triggering Golden Cherubim multiple times? Or does her ability to draw count as the only draw ability? Example, I have GC up and opponent blocks my rescue attempt with Damsel revealing my hand. I have 3 good brigades in my hand, causing my opponent to draw 3 cards. Do I get to search for 3 cards or 1? This is one of the few (if not the only) draw abilities where I can see a ruling going either way, since Damsel's draw is for each (making it seem like each card drawn is its own draw ability), not a draw X (which would be a single draw ability). Posting their abilities below.
Damsel with Spirit of Divination- If blocking, reveal opponent's hand. For each good brigade revealed, draw a card. Cannot be interrupted.
Golden Cherubim- If an opponent draws because of a special ability he controls, you may search your deck for a card. Cannot be negated.
-
Damsel is only activating its draw ability once even though that one activation may be for multiple cards. Therefore GC only searches once.
-
Damsel's ability is 1 draw ability with a variable amount of cards drawn. Even if you draw 4 cards it's 1 draw ability.
Golden Cherubim triggers on draw abilities, not cards drawn (like Gifts of the Magi), so even if you draw 4 cards from one ability Cherubim only triggers 1 search.
An alternate example would be Heavy Taxes. If used by an emperor, the ability is carried out twice which means there are 2 separate draw abilities. Cherubim would trigger off each draw ability separately allowing 2 searches (assuming the blocker chooses to draw both times).
Heavy Taxes - Opponent must discard a card from hand and you may draw a card. If used by an emperor, do this twice and end the battle.
-
I can certainly see why there would be a potential for reading Damsel the way you are mentioning, since it says "for each good brigade, draw..." which seems to indicate you do it once for each. However, it is all part of the same action:
When multiple cards are drawn they are drawn as a single action not as a separate action for each card drawn.
If it said "If there is Purple, draw a card. If there is Blue, draw a card. Etc." then those would be multiple actions, and you would trigger GC each time. However, it is a singular action of drawing a card per revealed good brigade.
Browarod brings up a perfect example of the other side of 'actions' with Heavy Taxes. It has you do the action, and then based on a condition lets you do that action again. Two activations of the same action, so GC goes of twice.
-
Alright, thanks. Just wanted to clarify.