Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master Q on September 01, 2012, 11:02:59 PM

Title: CwD Q
Post by: Master Q on September 01, 2012, 11:02:59 PM
Can you use Lifting the Curse to get rid of Covenant with Death if you had LtC in your territory and then the opponent activated CwD on a later turn?


Covenant with Death (FF2)

Type: Curse • Brigade: Pale Green/Brown • Ability: 2 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate characters. Restrict players from playing Enhancements unless a character is opposed in battle. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Isaiah 28:15

Lifting the Curse (Di)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: White • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: Territory • Special Ability: Place this card in your territory: At any time, you may discard this card to negate and discard a Curse (or an evil Enhancement in your territory). • Identifiers: None • Verse: Romans 8:1
Title: Re: CwD Q
Post by: Chris on September 01, 2012, 11:06:21 PM
Only if a character is opposed in battle. This is due to the definition of "play," which includes the activation of an ability.
Title: Re: CwD Q
Post by: Master Q on September 01, 2012, 11:10:20 PM
Only if a character is opposed in battle. This is due to the definition of "play," which includes the activation of an ability.

I didn't know there was an official definition of "play", but this was my suspicion. Thanks!
Title: Re: CwD Q
Post by: galadgawyn on September 02, 2012, 01:11:29 AM
Not sure about that.  What is the definition of activating an ability?  It seems like Lifting the Curse is active in territory and stays active as an ongoing ability until the trigger happens and it ends. 

For Gates of Hell, Herod's Temple, Fishing Boat, etc. does it activate every time you use it or are they activated once as ongoing abilities and are repeatedly used or triggered?

So I think Lifting the Curse should work.
Title: Re: CwD Q
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 02, 2012, 01:38:19 AM
Quote
It seems like Lifting the Curse is active in territory and stays active as an ongoing ability until the trigger happens and it ends. 
This is my understanding as well. Lifting the Curse is the best tool against CWD if you can get it down before it pops.
Title: Re: CwD Q
Post by: megamanlan on September 02, 2012, 04:29:33 AM
Only if a character is opposed in battle. This is due to the definition of "play," which includes the activation of an ability.

This is incorrect. The definition of play is the activation of the FULL ability. It would work if it was placed in territory before CwD was active or if played in battle. It's also why W3 still works while CwD is up if it was activated beforehand.
Title: Re: CwD Q
Post by: Professoralstad on September 02, 2012, 05:35:38 AM
Megaman, Pol, and galad are correct.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2
Title: Re: CwD Q
Post by: Master Q on September 05, 2012, 04:34:43 PM
Megaman, Pol, and galad are correct.

Alright, thanks for the correction. Good to know for next time.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal