Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: browarod on October 07, 2009, 01:04:10 PM

Title: CtB = Withdraw?
Post by: browarod on October 07, 2009, 01:04:10 PM
Are Choose the Blocker abilities considered withdraw abilities if you choose a different evil character than the one in battle?

For example, I RA with Leah (TexP) and my opponent blocks with King Merodach-baladan (Priests) and has Astrologers (TexP) in their territory. If I play Obedience of Noah (see below) and choose Astrologers, is King Merodach-baladan "withdrawing"?

Obedience of Noah
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Blue • Ability: 3 / 2 • Class: None • Special Ability: Holder may choose the Evil Character that his opponent uses to block his rescue attempt. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Genesis 6:22 • Availability: D Deck (L) and D Deck (UL)
Title: Re: CtB = Withdraw?
Post by: Professoralstad on October 07, 2009, 01:20:24 PM
From the REG:

Quote
Withdraw
The withdraw special ability either allows a charac­ter to exit battle unharmed or it forces an opposing character to leave the battle unharmed. Once a character withdraws from bat­tle, the character may not reenter battle during the same turn.

A Choose the blocker/rescuer ability certainly does the latter of these two statements. So I would tentatively say yes, though I'm not sure.

If so, however, then HA2+Lies is awesome.
Title: Re: CtB = Withdraw?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on October 07, 2009, 01:26:44 PM
I believe a withdraw ability must say withdraw.  An example of one fulfilling the second ability Prof talked about is Lion Dwelling With the Lamb (or something like that.)  CtB is to me more like Complainers; you are "exchanging" the hero/EC in battle with another Hero/EC, or if played pre block, choosing the EC that must block.

I would say no, but I don't know this for sure.

EDIT:

Oh and also, withdraw abilities allow the opponent to chose the new hero/EC.  Choose the blocker/rescuer do not.  I think this is the case all the time, but there might be exceptions.
Title: Re: CtB = Withdraw?
Post by: Professoralstad on October 07, 2009, 03:18:14 PM
So then Cage/Chains/Paul's Girdle etc. aren't withdraw abilities? That's news to me. And not all withdraw cards include a "opponent may place a new hero" clause; see Herod's Treachery.
Title: Re: CtB = Withdraw?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on October 07, 2009, 03:21:05 PM
So then Cage/Chains/Paul's Girdle etc. aren't withdraw abilities? That's news to me. And not all withdraw cards include a "opponent may place a new hero" clause; see Herod's Treachery.
The reason I said I'm not sure.
Title: Re: CtB = Withdraw?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 07, 2009, 04:14:27 PM
So then Cage/Chains/Paul's Girdle etc. aren't withdraw abilities?

Those cards are Withdraw abilities based on the "clarifications" for Withdraw in the REG. However, Choose the Blocker is not a Withdraw. Those abilities are separate in the REG.
Title: Re: CtB = Withdraw?
Post by: thestrongangel on October 13, 2009, 05:06:27 AM
So then Cage/Chains/Paul's Girdle etc. aren't withdraw abilities? That's news to me. And not all withdraw cards include a "opponent may place a new hero" clause; see Herod's Treachery.

Quoted from the General Description of Choose the Blocker:

Quote
Choose opponent cards allow the holder to exchange the opponent’s character with another character.  This special ability can be used to interfere with your opponent’s strategy and perhaps leave your opponent without a way to block or win a rescue attempt.  This special ability differs from Withdraw from Battle on page 51 by allowing the holder to choose the character rather than the opponent.

The last sentence says it all pretty much.  CtB abilities are specifically differentiated from Withdraw abilities.
Title: Re: CtB = Withdraw?
Post by: browarod on October 13, 2009, 01:19:39 PM
Quoted from the General Description of Choose the Blocker:

Quote
Choose opponent cards allow the holder to exchange the opponent’s character with another character.  This special ability can be used to interfere with your opponent’s strategy and perhaps leave your opponent without a way to block or win a rescue attempt.  This special ability differs from Withdraw from Battle on page 51 by allowing the holder to choose the character rather than the opponent.

The last sentence says it all pretty much.  CtB abilities are specifically differentiated from Withdraw abilities.
Clear, concise, and explanatory. An excellent quote! Thank you ^_^
Title: Re: CtB = Withdraw?
Post by: browarod on October 15, 2009, 08:56:53 PM
So, if CtB does not mean the evil character is withdrawing, can I use a CtB card to replace a blocker that's immune to me, or are they still immune to that?
Title: Re: CtB = Withdraw?
Post by: BubbleBoy on October 15, 2009, 10:28:59 PM
I do believe CtB is all-powerful (except for negatability), especially evil CtB, since it has few counters.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal