Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gabe on May 18, 2009, 09:09:48 AM
-
If my opponent has an EC in Kingdoms of this World, can I place Doubt in their territory, then use a CTB ability to force them to block with Doubt?
Doubt
Type: Grim Reaper • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place in any territory. When played, this card becomes an orange brigade 0/12 Evil Character until end of turn.
Kingdoms of the World
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Evil Characters here are protected from effect, and may be removed during holder’s preparation phase only. While an Evil Character is here, protect holder from being forced to block with another player’s character. • Identifiers: Holds up to three Evil Characters
-
As long as he doesn't have Wall of Protection up I don't see why not.
-
That is assuming that Doubt becomes the possession of whoever has it in their territory. However, that would make sense.
It seems to me that you would be able to as Doubt seems to give itself to whoever you choose. But, if Doubt can be placed anywhere while still being yours, then no.
-
I think you may have just discovered an actual good use for Doubt in a 2-player game (which we really needed).
KotW only stops your opponent from forcing you to block with "another player's character". Since being "their" character would require that they own AND control the card, and since they would no longer control Doubt once it was in your territory, then it would no longer be "their" card. So KotW wouldn't stop them.
Depending on the wording of WoP, it might also not stop Doubt from being chosen. if WoP says that "your" characters may not be brought into battle, then it would not stop Doubt from being chosen. Doubt would not be "your" card even though you control it in your territory (because you don't own it).
-
Wall of Protection, Play As: "Place this site in your territory. Characters in your territory are protected from being brought into battle by an opponent."
So Wall (but not Kingdoms) would stop it.
-
Wow Gabe, I am impressed. Josh Kopp made it playable for the teams event last year, but I didn't think we'd see any actual use for it anytime soon...
:thumbup:
Kirk
-
OK, So if they have Wall but not Kingdoms, you can play Doubt in your territory and force them to block with Doubt.
If they have Kingdoms but not Wall, you can play it in their territory and force them to use Doubt to block with.
If they have both then you are kinda hosed anyway. But this is a great use of Doubt and I am seriously thinking of making a type 1-2 player deck for this ability.
-
I'm pretty sure that when Doubt is played, control and ownership of it transfers to the player in whose territory you placed it. So I would agree that this combo Gabe figured out works. Yay for making semi-useless cards playable! XD
-
Doubt has no ownership. It's a dominant. It doesn't give ownership to the territory it is played in, it is just a dominant. Therefore, it's neutral and is an evil character that belongs to no one.
-
If dominants have no ownership, can you send the ownerless dominants in your closet to me so they can sit ownerless in my closet?
-
Sure. ;D
-
Cards always have owners. They had to originate in SOMEbody's deck...
-
Hm... then I guess that I would say it's yours, no matter where you play it?
-
No, you are the owner, but "your" ECs require you to also have control of them at that time.