Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Ryupeco11 on October 09, 2010, 09:20:49 PM

Title: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: Ryupeco11 on October 09, 2010, 09:20:49 PM
ok so this came up in a friendly game today at a tournament but no one knew what would happen.
player A has Holy of Holies active on Solomons temple and places covering the sacred things on it. player A makes a rescue attempt with a hero and player B blocks with king hazael and chooses to discard Solomons temple.

what happens to holy of holies?



Covering the Sacred Things (Pi)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Teal • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place on any active Tabernacle Artifact. That Artifact cannot be negated or discarded while a Priest is in play. If that Artifact is deactivated, return this card to hand. • Play As: Place on any active Tabernacle Artifact. That Artifact cannot be negated. Protect that Artifact from discard abilities while a Priest is in play. If that Artifact is deactivated, return this card to hand.

Holy of Holies
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Prevent all interrupt, prevent, and negate abilities on Characters. Cannot be negated during the battle phase. • Identifiers: OT, Tabernacle Item, Temple Item • Verse: I Kings 8:6 • Availability: Priests


Solomon's Temple (Pa)

Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Holder may activate a second Artifact from Artifact pile or hand on this Fortress if that Artifact was found in Solomon's Temple. Artifact takes immediate effect. • Play As: Holder may activate a second Artifact from Artifact pile or hand on this Fortress. Solomon's Temple may hold one Temple Artifact found in Solomon's Temple. • Identifiers: Play to territory. • Verse: I Kings 6:1 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Rare)

King Hazael (RA)

Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 8 / 11 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: You may discard a gray brigade enhancement from hand to discard an O.T. Fortress or occupied Site. Opponent may discard one of his Artifacts instead. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, King (Syria), Royalty, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: II Kings 12:17 • Availability: Rock of Ages booster packs (None)
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: browarod on October 09, 2010, 09:24:20 PM
INE, but I would rule that it would return to your artifact pile and it's ability would remain until the end of the battle phase.
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: Ryupeco11 on October 09, 2010, 09:29:10 PM
thats what I was thinking but since no one was sure exactly what would happen to it at our playgroup I would like a few elders to comment so we can be sure for future references ^_^
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: The Guardian on October 10, 2010, 02:42:28 AM
The "play as" on Covering the Sacred Things may need to be reworded.

As written on the card, I agree with browarod about HoH returning to the artifact pile and remaining active for the rest of the phase because it is protected from discard altogether. However, the play as for CtST says it only protects arts from discard abilities and in this scenario, HoH is not being discarded by a special ability but rather by a game rule that says cards follow the cards they are placed on. (i.e. a temple is discarded, the artifact on it follows it to discard pile).

Typically play as is not supposed to change how a card works (that is errata), so this may need to be revised.
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: RTSmaniac on October 11, 2010, 12:23:09 PM
i pretty much disregard play as on cards now
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: Ryupeco11 on October 11, 2010, 03:23:13 PM
Quote
Typically play as is not supposed to change how a card works (that is errata), so this may need to be revised.

that was what i thought and another reason why i posted the question even after reading it in the REG.

Quote
i pretty much disregard play as on cards now
I'm beginning to do the same to some degree
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on October 14, 2010, 03:00:01 PM
so according to guardian, it would get discarded by game rule and not special ability?
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: Ryupeco11 on October 14, 2010, 03:05:17 PM
if the play-as on it is correct then yes it would be discarded by game rule. So the real question is: is the play as correct?
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 14, 2010, 03:08:19 PM
Disregard any errata labeled as "play as."
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on October 14, 2010, 03:10:37 PM
so it would be discarded then?
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 14, 2010, 03:55:10 PM
It would not.
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: Bryon on October 15, 2010, 01:00:33 AM
Disregard any errata labeled as "play as."
That is not a bad suggestion.  An even better suggestion is to disregard it in playing, but then post it and send a PM or e-mail to Mike so we can get those fixed.  :)
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: Korunks on October 15, 2010, 09:44:28 AM
Quote
It would not.

Then where does it go, artifact pile?  And its ability lasts until the end of the phase?
Title: Re: Covering the Sacred Things
Post by: browarod on October 15, 2010, 01:11:52 PM
Quote
It would not.

Then where does it go, artifact pile?  And its ability lasts until the end of the phase?
That would be the logical ruling, yes.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal