Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Tsavong Lah on December 23, 2008, 05:12:07 PM
-
I was under the impression that you can't use Cov. of Noah to negate cards like FO because the card is in the discard pile. Am I correct?
Also, do you need initiative to play Covenant of Noah?
-
I was under the impression that you can't use Cov. of Noah to negate cards like FO because the card is in the discard pile. Am I correct?
I don't know. My gut reaction is to say "yes, you can negate it," because you don't need initiative to activate Covenant with Noah as an artifact. However, I'm not sure if Failed Objective is considered to be in the discard pile as soon as its effect activates. Could someone confirm this?
Also, do you need initiative to play Covenant of Noah?
If by "play" you mean play in battle as an enhancement, yes, you need initiative by numbers or (more likely as it's a negate) by removal. You do not need initiative to activate its special ability when it is being used as an artifact.
-
Covenant of Noah
Type: Covenant • Brigade: Blue • Ability: 2 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: Use as an enhancement or an Artifact. Interrupt and prevent one evil enhancement. Discard after use. • Identifiers: OT • Verse: Genesis 9:1
-
That was... helpful. :P
-
Since the card doesn't say "in play" you can probablly negate it from the discard, right?
-
That was... helpful. :P
Actually it was. Players are always encouraged to post abilities.
The answer is "no", Cov of Noah cannot target Failed Objective because it is in the discard pile, and the only negate that works is one that states to "negate last".
Since the card doesn't say "in play" you can probablly negate it from the discard, right?
No. The default is card targets must be in play.
-
Actually it was. Players are always encouraged to post abilities.
Ah, I knew there was some reason behind your post. I just couldn't figure it out, thanks. ;)
-
Interesting. I've always encouraged my playgroup to use Cov of Noah to negate Death of Unrighteous, Failed Objective and the like. I've probably even done it a few times myself. For some reason I was under the impression Cov of Noah was one of the few ways to stop those "coward blocks".
I do believe that Scott is right, though. The default for all targets is cards in play so Cov of Noah can't target cards in the discard pile (out of play). Not sure how I missed that one. ::)
-
Covenant of Noah
Type: Covenant • Brigade: Blue • Ability: 2 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: Use as an enhancement or an Artifact. Interrupt and prevent one evil enhancement. Discard after use. • Identifiers: OT • Verse: Genesis 9:1 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Common)
If I play Cov. of Noah I get to pick the Enhancment that is Interupted and prevented?
Also if none of the Evil Enhancements have SA on it what happens when Cov. of Noah is played?
-
Wah...?
-
If I play Cov. of Noah I get to pick the Enhancment that is Interupted and prevented?
Yes.
Also if none of the Evil Enhancements have SA on it what happens when Cov. of Noah is played?
As an enhancement: It has no ability to negate, so your hero just gains 2/5.
As an artifact: I think you can try to negate a no-SA card, but I'm not sure...?
-
Doesn't Cov-o-Noah negate numbers also? Because, it just says "negate an enhancement," not "negate the SA of an enhancement."
-
Interesting. I've always encouraged my playgroup to use Cov of Noah to negate Death of Unrighteous, Failed Objective and the like. I've probably even done it a few times myself. For some reason I was under the impression Cov of Noah was one of the few ways to stop those "coward blocks".
I do believe that Scott is right, though. The default for all targets is cards in play so Cov of Noah can't target cards in the discard pile (out of play). Not sure how I missed that one. ::)
That makes sense, however I am not convinced that failed objective is actually in the discard pile. You should be able to negate something if you can. I don't think the card should go to the discard pile before I get a chance to negate it. Semantically this seems worng. Like when I play WOS the battle doesn't go completely to battle resolution. I get a chance to negate wrath I should be able to negate Failed objective if I can
If we want to say that abilities complete before you can use Covenant with Noah then you cannot us CwN against,
Arrogance+ any enhancements+ End the battle card
Any Horses+ CBN Battle winner
Bells Banquet or any other EE that says discard to do ....
-
I'm pretty sure we've already ruled that it doesn't work against the first two, the last one is in discussion, and as I recall the reason that CwN can't negate it is that in order for it to complete the EC hits the discard pile, thus the EE is in the Discard pile also, and since its not harming the hero (Which was the key two years ago when we first discussed this) The rescuer never has an opportunity to negate it.
-
Doesn't Cov-o-Noah negate numbers also? Because, it just says "negate an enhancement," not "negate the SA of an enhancement."
Correct. Interrupt and prevent is like your opponent never played that card, which include the numbers.
So, you can use Covenant of Noah to negate a card with no SA to get rid of the numbers. That's why it's a good thing to use as an artifact with a Fight-By-The-Numbers character.
Eric "yay artifact that can negate enhancements" Largent
-
Yet shockingly no one plays with unsuccessful.
-
Doesn't interrupt/prevent/negate refer to the special ability of a card, not the numbers? If not that doesn't make a lot of sense imo....
EDIT: I guess the part that is confusing me is this quote
A negate ability interrupts a special ability, and then prevents that special ability for the rest of the battle.