Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master Q on February 05, 2014, 02:35:06 AM

Title: Cov w/ Levi Q
Post by: Master Q on February 05, 2014, 02:35:06 AM
Cov w/ Levi says- "If your Priest rescues a Lost Soul from a Site, you may place an Evil Character or Enhancement beneath owner's draw pile."

Can you place a good or evil Enhancement beneath, or does it have to be evil?
Title: Re: Cov w/ Levi Q
Post by: Redoubter on February 05, 2014, 05:15:57 PM
I would, by the reading of the card, say that it is an Evil Character or Evil Enhancement.  However, you are correct that the grammar could be better to indicate this.

Other thoughts?
Title: Re: Cov w/ Levi Q
Post by: Blisstake on February 05, 2014, 05:20:00 PM
Would this include cards like philosophy?
Title: Re: Cov w/ Levi Q
Post by: Redoubter on February 05, 2014, 09:53:56 PM
Would this include cards like philosophy?

No, because this ability only targets cards in play, and if Philosophy did get into play, it would either be good or evil (it is only both in hand, deck, or discard).
Title: Re: Cov w/ Levi Q
Post by: The Guardian on February 05, 2014, 11:11:18 PM
I would, by the reading of the card, say that it is an Evil Character or Evil Enhancement.  However, you are correct that the grammar could be better to indicate this.

Other thoughts?

I agree--my thought was that the card would need to read "an Evil Character or an Enhancement" in order to target  good or evil, but since it says "an Evil Character or Enhancement" it should be read as "Evil Character or Evil Enhancement."

However, I wasn't completely certain so I waited for someone else to chime in.  :)
Title: Re: Cov w/ Levi Q
Post by: Redoubter on February 06, 2014, 04:40:21 PM
I agree--my thought was that the card would need to read "an Evil Character or an Enhancement" in order to target  good or evil, but since it says "an Evil Character or Enhancement" it should be read as "Evil Character or Evil Enhancement."

I like this logic, I think this one is pretty solid.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Levi Q
Post by: browarod on February 06, 2014, 05:11:56 PM
That is consistent (I believe) with the Job ruling (that "abilities" applies to both discard and capture in his text) so I agree with it as well.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal