Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RTSmaniac on August 12, 2010, 12:41:56 PM

Title: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 12, 2010, 12:41:56 PM
If I have Cov. with Eden active, and i block with wandering spirit and play Suicide, does he go to the bottom of my deck?

Covenant of Eden (Pa)
Type: Covenant • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 3 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Use as an enhancement or an Artifact. No character may be removed from the game. Instead discard the character targeted for removal. • Play As: Use as an enhancement or an Artifact. If a character is being removed from the game, discard that character instead.

Suicidal Swine Stampede (Di)
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Orange • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Remove all Evil Characters in battle from the game to shuffle all Lost Souls in your territory into owners' deck. • Play As: Remove all Evil Characters in battle from the game to return all Lost Souls in your territory into owners' deck. • Identifiers: NT, Connected with Demons • Verse: Luke 8:33 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

Wandering Spirit (TP)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Orange • Ability: 3 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Reveal the bottom card of deck. If it is a demon, put it in your territory. May band to a generic demon. If your demon is discarded, place it beneath deck instead. Cannot be negated. • Play As: Reveal the bottom card of deck. If it is a demon, place it in your territory. May band to a generic demon. If your demon is being discarded, place it beneath deck instead. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: Generic NT Male Demon • Verse: Luke 11:24 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()

Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on August 12, 2010, 06:59:59 PM
Yes. That's a solid play my friend.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: SirNobody on August 12, 2010, 09:32:38 PM
Hey,

Yes Wandering Spirit goes to the bottom of your deck.  No your lost souls do not get shuffled.  The evil characters in battle were not removed from the game, so the cost was not paid so you don't get to do the benefit.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 12, 2010, 09:35:22 PM
Ahh i see_ well im glad no one plays with CoE so my SSS will work then
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Alex_Olijar on August 12, 2010, 11:05:18 PM
Hey,

Yes Wandering Spirit goes to the bottom of your deck.  No your lost souls do not get shuffled.  The evil characters in battle were not removed from the game, so the cost was not paid so you don't get to do the benefit.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly

But the cost was insteaded to be a discard cost?
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 12, 2010, 11:51:23 PM
in order for that to work you would have to have some card that replaces the wording on stampede.

ex.-
Artifact
Change the text of target evil enhancement by replacing all instances of the word remove with discard.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 13, 2010, 02:50:57 AM
Wait, what? So Chamber+IaH doesn't work anymore?
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: RTSmaniac on August 14, 2010, 12:53:26 AM
exactly
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on August 14, 2010, 12:55:34 AM
Wow. My Job deck just got a lot less fun.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on August 14, 2010, 01:00:04 AM
Hey,

Yes Wandering Spirit goes to the bottom of your deck.  No your lost souls do not get shuffled.  The evil characters in battle were not removed from the game, so the cost was not paid so you don't get to do the benefit.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Elder #1

I'm waiting for Elder #2.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: sk on August 14, 2010, 03:44:57 AM
I'm pretty sure Bryon answered the same way during playtesting when I noticed it.  It didn't work for some reason, I just can't remember exactly what his reason was.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: browarod on August 14, 2010, 06:04:44 AM
So, yeah, does this then change the way Chamber and IaH work as Pol asked?
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Red on August 14, 2010, 09:21:16 AM
So, yeah, does this then change the way Chamber and IaH work as Pol asked?
No until elder #2 rules. And it works like this:You pay the cost but then after the cost completes another card jumps in and changes the cost. The cost was paid but then adverted after SSS completes.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: SirNobody on August 14, 2010, 10:34:37 AM
Hey,

I'm curious, can anyone think of a ruling other than Chamber/I am Holy that allows the benefit to be done when the cost was insteaded?

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Professoralstad on August 14, 2010, 11:23:25 AM
Hey,

I'm curious, can anyone think of a ruling other than Chamber/I am Holy that allows the benefit to be done when the cost was insteaded?

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly

Elymas and Tartaros
Jephthah and Chamber/Tartaros
Discarder LS and Tartaros

Pretty much all situations that I can think of involve Chamber and Tartaros.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 14, 2010, 12:42:12 PM
Grapes and Wandering Spirit.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 14, 2010, 01:19:09 PM
Chamber of Angels has a Play As that says, "heal, then place instead", if that makes a difference.

FWIW, I would have to agree with SirNobody that the cost has not been paid with an instead. The very definition of instead would indicate that the prior action did not take effect. Perhaps the new REG can give better clarification of instead and its repercussions.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on August 14, 2010, 03:19:32 PM
Chamber of Angels has a Play As that says, "heal, then place instead", if that makes a difference.

FWIW, I would have to agree with SirNobody that the cost has not been paid with an instead. The very definition of instead would indicate that the prior action did not take effect. Perhaps the new REG can give better clarification of instead and its repercussions.
With an instead the ability still activated. The card tried to remove the evil characters (per the cost, thus paying said cost) Cov with eden redirected where they were going.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Master KChief on August 14, 2010, 03:29:15 PM
instead is not the same as redirect.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on August 14, 2010, 03:32:14 PM
instead is not the same as redirect.
Really? How so? Seems like its just changing the target either way, but maybe I am missing something.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 14, 2010, 04:02:01 PM
Really? How so? Seems like its just changing the target either way, but maybe I am missing something.

Redirect always changes the target. Instead may change the target, but more often keeps the target and changes the action. With a Redirect, for instance, you would still be discarding, but you discard someone else. With an Instead, you are no longer discarding - you are now placing on the bottom of deck, which is a completely different special ability.

The card tried to remove the evil characters (per the cost, thus paying said cost) Cov with eden redirected where they were going.

SSS tried to pay the cost, but Covenant with Eden would not let it. That is just my opinion, which is usually wrong with ruling questions. I think that this will have to wait until after Nats, since the Elders are mostly busy.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 15, 2010, 12:34:20 PM
I have a bread for sale. You buy it, but the Government steps in and takes the money instead of me. You still get the bread.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 15, 2010, 12:38:22 PM
I have a bread for sale. You buy it, but the Government steps in and takes the money instead of me. You still get the bread.

Interesting analogy. I was thinking more like:

I have bread for anyone who raises their hand. You want some bread, but the Government cuts your arms off instead.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 15, 2010, 12:44:32 PM
That doesn't even make sense. Can you point out the correlations there, because I don't see them.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 15, 2010, 01:10:56 PM
That doesn't even make sense. Can you point out the correlations there, because I don't see them.

Certainly.  ;D

SSS wants the bread (shuffle lost souls). It tries to pay the cost (remove from game). Covenant with Eden won't let it pay the cost (Government cutting your arms off).
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Master KChief on August 15, 2010, 01:27:40 PM
or, i have bread for sale and i only accept american dollars. a wizard flies by and turns all your american dollars into pesos. you cannot use pesos to buy my bread.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: SirNobody on August 15, 2010, 02:55:31 PM
Hey,

I have I am Justice active and attack.  My opponent blocks and plays The Rabsaris Attacks.  I choose to discard the top five cards of my deck.  I then ignore the blocking evil character and win the battle.  Can I then use I am Justice to discard the blocking evil character?

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Red on August 15, 2010, 03:13:43 PM
Hey,

I have I am Justice active and attack.  My opponent blocks and plays The Rabsaris Attacks.  I choose to discard the top five cards of my deck.  I then ignore the blocking evil character and win the battle.  Can I then use I am Justice to discard the blocking evil character?

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Of course unless regardless of battle outcome is ignored.
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Master_Chi on August 15, 2010, 05:53:35 PM
Hey,

I have I am Justice active and attack.  My opponent blocks and plays The Rabsaris Attacks.  I choose to discard the top five cards of my deck.  I then ignore the blocking evil character and win the battle.  Can I then use I am Justice to discard the blocking evil character?

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Of course unless regardless of battle outcome is ignored.

I Am Justice does NOT have "regardless of battle outcome" in it's special ability. It states: "If an Evil Character discards your Hero this battle, you MAY discard that Evil Character at the end of battle. Limit 2 discards per game."

In this case, I would say that SirNobody could not use IaJ to d/c the evil character. Yes, at one point in time the Hero was tageted for discard, but an alternative was presented and taken advantage of, thus removing the target from the Hero. This could also be represented by salvation. Our souls are the target of Satan, and their destination is Hell. However, Jesus chose to die on the cross to redirect our destination, thus removing the target from our souls (and completely eliminating it altogether, ASSUMING that we have accepted salvation).
Title: Re: Cov w/ Eden + Wandering Spirit + Suicidal Swine Stampede
Post by: Alex_Olijar on August 15, 2010, 05:58:29 PM
Hey,

I have I am Justice active and attack.  My opponent blocks and plays The Rabsaris Attacks.  I choose to discard the top five cards of my deck.  I then ignore the blocking evil character and win the battle.  Can I then use I am Justice to discard the blocking evil character?

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly

No. However, in this case, I am Justice is a triggered effect. It is triggered by discarding a hero. You, however, insteaded the discard of a hero to discard your deck, and so, I am Justice never triggers. SSS and Covenant of Eden would appear to be an instead effect as well. However, it is not insteading the effect (discarding the hero) but rather insteading the cost (discard instead of remove).
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal