Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: CJSports on August 30, 2014, 02:23:17 PM
-
Question 1. My brother has Gifts of the Magi up and he has a character set aside with feast of trumpets. Can he bring the hero back trigger Gifts and then activate a new artifact after? I was under the impression that he could not because Gifts' ability was already triggered that turn.
Question 2. If King Abijam is converted by meeting the messiah is he considered Gold, Purple, or Purple/Gold? He's the one you choose if he comes in as an EC or Hero in case you are wondering.
Question 3. If King Abijam is in my d/c when chariots triggers, does he get shuffled back into deck? Does it matter if he was chosen to be a hero or EC or is that arbitrary?
Thanks!
-
I don't know 1, but I know 2 & 3.
2. He is Gold, the Purple only applies as he is put in play as a hero, if he is converted he does not gain purple.
3. Yes, in discard pile he resets to a Good/Evil character, so he is targeted as a hero in discard pile.
-
1. He cannot. If you use an artifact where you can choose to do something (like in this case) on your own turn, you have 'chosen' it to be active.
2-3. Yirgogo is correct.
-
Thanks for 2 and 3. For the first question again, what if he chooses to not draw from gifts because it is a "may draw" ability. Would he then be able to activate a new artifact?
-
Thanks for 2 and 3. For the first question again, what if he chooses to not draw from gifts because it is a "may draw" ability. Would he then be able to activate a new artifact?
Yes.
-
Awesome, now I have a question. What if someone has covenant with death up, than activates another artifact, does the restrict ability apply for the whole phase, or not.
Also, what if someone has another artifact up, plays a territory class enhancement, and than activates covenant with death. Is this legal, and if so what happens?
-
Awesome, now I have a question. What if someone has covenant with death up, than activates another artifact, does the restrict ability apply for the whole phase, or not.
Also, what if someone has another artifact up, plays a territory class enhancement, and than activates covenant with death. Is this legal, and if so what happens?
For your first question, I would say no. I don't think your second question is legal, but I'm not sure.
-
Thanks for 2 and 3. For the first question again, what if he chooses to not draw from gifts because it is a "may draw" ability. Would he then be able to activate a new artifact?
Yes.
I agree that this is the precedent, but why is that, specifically? Either way you're acknowledging the artifact is there and is active. It just doesn't seem intuitive. Maybe we should have an artifact phase. Nudge, nudge.
-
I would definitely be in favor of an artifact phase, wherever it would be placed.
As far as current rules, it is the precedent that you are only 'locked-in' if you actually use that optional ability on Gifts, and that the restrict for Covenant with Death is no longer active when deactivated (as with all deactivated artifacts). Also as far as I know, you can play a TC enhancement and then activate Covenant with Death legally.
-
As far as current rules, it is the precedent that you are only 'locked-in' if you actually use that optional ability on Gifts
This is where I think the rule is flawed. Regardless of whether or not you draw, you're still technically "using" the ability, since it still triggers regardless of the draw itself.
-
But seeing as you can do prep phase actions in any order, if you choose not to use the optional ability it can simply be because you haven't gotten around to switching artifacts yet, rather than triggering the gifts.