Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jbeers285 on December 07, 2012, 12:48:09 AM

Title: couple questions
Post by: jbeers285 on December 07, 2012, 12:48:09 AM
can herod's temple fort and site be in play at the same time?

if isaiah is converted in battle does his protection of purple kings still work?
Title: Re: couple questions
Post by: Gabe on December 07, 2012, 01:04:22 AM
Yes to both
Title: Re: couple questions
Post by: ChristianSoldier on December 07, 2012, 03:40:27 AM
A quick explanation:
Fortresses are unique, but sites are not, so even though there are 2 "Herod's Temples" in play there are not 2 unique cards with the name "Herod's Temple" in play.

The reason the protection doesn't end is because protection is an ongoing ability, which last until the end of the phase when not specified, so even though Isaiah's ability goes away (in the sense that the card no longer has it (see converted heroes losing abilities) and is no longer in battle) the ability lasts until the end of the phase.
Title: Re: couple questions
Post by: YourMathTeacher on December 07, 2012, 09:02:51 AM
To further clarify the Soldier's explanation, if you use a converted Isaiah to block in a following turn, the protection will not work, since converted heroes do not keep their special abilities.
Title: Re: couple questions
Post by: Platinum_Angel on December 07, 2012, 08:40:31 PM
REG

Convert

Convert is a special ability that changes a card into another type of card. For example, The Seventh Trumpet (Wa) converts a human Evil Character to a Hero. A converted card retains it abilities (*/*) unless a card specifies otherwise.
Title: Re: couple questions
Post by: RTSmaniac on December 07, 2012, 11:07:56 PM
A converted card retains it abilities (*/*) unless a card specifies otherwise means that it keeps its numbers. It is a game rule that the Hero doesnt keep his/her SA when converted to an EC. Not sure why, and I hope it changes one day.
Title: Re: couple questions
Post by: ChristianSoldier on December 08, 2012, 01:07:27 AM
A converted card retains it abilities (*/*) unless a card specifies otherwise means that it keeps its numbers. It is a game rule that the Hero doesnt keep his/her SA when converted to an EC. Not sure why, and I hope it changes one day.

It was to prevent people from abusing the few evil converts to make powerful evil characters (I think Jacob being converted to crimson (I don't remember what card let you do that) and then being able to play dream) Then it was decided it was against the theme of the game for a player to convert their own hero so they could get an awesome evil character.

I don't really think it is broken or anything (although I don't know all of the options available), just that they didn't like the message given when you convert your own hero to evil for fun and profit (or something like that)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal