Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 29, 2009, 01:07:29 PM

Title: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 29, 2009, 01:07:29 PM
Here is my question -

Are Cost/Gain abilities (Jephthah) May type abilities?

Scenario:

I block your battle challenge with Naaman, If they're no active artifacts in play can I play Strange fire on Naaman to discard him in order to convert him to red?

Naaman
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Grey • Ability: 8 / 7 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: O.T. Enhancements used by Naaman cannot be negated. The first time Namaan is about to be discarded, heal him and convert him to a red brigade Hero. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Commander (Syria), Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: II Kings 5:1 • Availability: Faith of Fathers (Set 9)

Strange Fire
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Grey • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may discard one of your human Evil Characters to discard an Artifact in play. Cannot be negated. • Play As: You may discard one of your human Evil Characters to discard (but not negate) an Artifact in play.  Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT, False Religious Practice • Verse: Leviticus 10:1 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Common)

Also two follow up questions,

Assuming this works what if Strange Fire didn't say may? but said "Discard one of your humans to discard an artifact" Does it still work?

If I had played Momentum Change on Naaman would I get strange fire back?

Momentum Change
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Grey • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Return all Evil Enhancements except this one to holder's hand if Evil Character loses in battle. • Play As: Return all Evil Enhancements in this battle that were used by this Evil Character except this one to holder's hand if Evil Character loses in battle. • Identifiers: None • Verse: II Samuel 19:1-2 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Common)

So I guess it boils down to can you do the cost without getting the benefit? and does suicide count as losing in battle?

 
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: TimMierz on June 29, 2009, 01:12:24 PM
You can pay the cost without gaining the benefit. So you can discard Naaman (and actually convert him instead) via Strange Fire, regardless of whether an artifact is discardable. If it didn't have "may," you'd HAVE to discard Naaman regardless of the number of artifacts out.
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 29, 2009, 01:14:07 PM
Ok, so I can play it and do the cost without receiving the benefit. Thats cool, and thats how I thought it worked, any idea on my second question Tim?
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: TimMierz on June 29, 2009, 01:15:11 PM
Sorry, I overlooked that. Naaman lost the battle, so Momentum Change would let you take Strange Fire back.
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 29, 2009, 01:19:46 PM
Sweet, thats for sure going into my Syrian deck now.
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on June 29, 2009, 02:24:58 PM
I dont see why you need to throw that in your deck, aside from being able to kill two arts while loosing two battles.
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 29, 2009, 05:37:19 PM
Heroless, I now can convert up 5 Characters.
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on June 29, 2009, 08:02:31 PM
err.... only if you can get Naaman back, play 100+ card T1, or play T2.
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 29, 2009, 08:49:49 PM
nah, Healing of Naaman.
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: redemption99 on June 29, 2009, 10:14:28 PM
he turns to red anyway if he is d/c'ed in battle
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 29, 2009, 11:25:31 PM
Naaman does yeah, But with healing of Naaman I can go any color I want/need.
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: RTSmaniac on June 30, 2009, 11:35:11 AM
how does this scenerio play out due to order of abilities? Naamam is about to be discarded and is converted instead...how can he be targeted for healing if he's target for conversion?
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Captain Kirk on June 30, 2009, 11:45:56 AM
He can't be targeted for healing if his ability is converting him.  You just have to hope for a FBN battle if you want to use the Healing of Naaman to make him any color...  :-\

Kirk
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on June 30, 2009, 11:51:49 AM
Either that or just discard him from your hand and heal him while his SA isn't active.
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: Captain Kirk on June 30, 2009, 11:53:35 AM
Right, I realize that, but then you never get to use him first as an evil character before making him useful on offense in the brigade of your choice.

Kirk
Title: Re: Cost/Gain Abilities
Post by: RTSmaniac on June 30, 2009, 08:36:45 PM
and the whole point would be to get naamans horses on him right? Judges seat and kill.your own guy then heal.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal