Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Wings of Music on April 26, 2012, 08:41:31 AM

Title: Converting Comlainers
Post by: Wings of Music on April 26, 2012, 08:41:31 AM
From the REG:
Quote
A converted card always retains its special ability. If its special ability is consistent with the nature of its new converted state then its special ability activates normally. If its special ability goes against the nature of  its new converted state then its special ability does not activate, even if a game action is performed that would normally cause its ability to activate.



Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 6 / 6 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate all special abilities on opponent’s Heroes. You may exchange a Hero in battle with a Hero in opponent’s territory. • Identifiers: Generic OT Genderless Human • Verse: Numbers 11:1 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)



Would Complainers exchange ability be considered against the nature of its converted status?  I would contend no since exchange does not directly harm the opponent's hero. 
Title: Re: Converting Comlainers
Post by: Praeceps on April 26, 2012, 09:34:50 AM
I would agree with you, especially with the ruling that came with AUTO exchanging with Samuel.
Title: Re: Converting Comlainers
Post by: Professoralstad on April 26, 2012, 10:25:56 AM
If an Evil Character's ability can target a Hero while that Evil Character is evil, then the ability does not convert. So, no, you cannot exchange Complainers with an opponent's Hero. Would be fun though.
Title: Re: Converting Comlainers
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 26, 2012, 11:06:24 AM
Quote
A converted card always retains its special ability. If its special ability is consistent with the nature of its new converted state then its special ability activates normally. If its special ability goes against the nature of  its new converted state then its special ability does not activate, even if a game action is performed that would normally cause its ability to activate.
Where did this come from? Is this really old or really new? Or is it just extremely ambiguously worded? Last I knew, a Hero converted to an EC never kept his special ability (or at least, kept it but never got to activate it). Is that because it's "against its nature"? What does that even mean?
Title: Re: Converting Comlainers
Post by: Chris on April 26, 2012, 11:10:01 AM
Quote
A converted card always retains its special ability. If its special ability is consistent with the nature of its new converted state then its special ability activates normally. If its special ability goes against the nature of  its new converted state then its special ability does not activate, even if a game action is performed that would normally cause its ability to activate.
Where did this come from? Is this really old or really new? Or is it just extremely ambiguously worded? Last I knew, a Hero converted to an EC never kept his special ability (or at least, kept it but never got to activate it). Is that because it's "against its nature"? What does that even mean?

This has always been the case. If, for instance, Proud Pharisees gets converted, it becomes one of the best heroes in the game.
Title: Re: Converting Comlainers
Post by: Professoralstad on April 26, 2012, 01:24:41 PM
Quote
   
Converted characters are converted to the brigade color of the card with the convert ability.

A convert ability only targets humans unless a specific non-human target is specified.

Targets must be in play.

For the sake of simplicity, all Hero abilities are considered inconsistent with the nature of an Evil Character.

This is found in the Default Conditions for convert.
Title: Re: Converting Comlainers
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on April 26, 2012, 02:09:23 PM
While these rules are the default for tournaments...

I wonder how fun games would work if we added an optional rule that removed this restriction (Aka, all abilities work on converted characters).
Title: Re: Converting Comlainers
Post by: megamanlan on April 26, 2012, 03:19:36 PM
Quote
A converted card always retains its special ability. If its special ability is consistent with the nature of its new converted state then its special ability activates normally. If its special ability goes against the nature of  its new converted state then its special ability does not activate, even if a game action is performed that would normally cause its ability to activate.
Where did this come from? Is this really old or really new? Or is it just extremely ambiguously worded? Last I knew, a Hero converted to an EC never kept his special ability (or at least, kept it but never got to activate it). Is that because it's "against its nature"? What does that even mean?

I believe u are thinking of an EC converting a Hero to an EC. When that happens I was told is that the Hero doesn't keep his SA.
Title: Re: Converting Comlainers
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 26, 2012, 04:44:47 PM
Quote
A converted card always retains its special ability. If its special ability is consistent with the nature of its new converted state then its special ability activates normally. If its special ability goes against the nature of  its new converted state then its special ability does not activate, even if a game action is performed that would normally cause its ability to activate.
Where did this come from? Is this really old or really new? Or is it just extremely ambiguously worded? Last I knew, a Hero converted to an EC never kept his special ability (or at least, kept it but never got to activate it). Is that because it's "against its nature"? What does that even mean?

This has always been the case. If, for instance, Proud Pharisees gets converted, it becomes one of the best heroes in the game.
Yes, I know about that (and in fact was possibly the first one to discover this). But converted Heroes.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal