Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: stefferweffer on June 14, 2010, 09:28:07 AM

Title: Converted Weapons
Post by: stefferweffer on June 14, 2010, 09:28:07 AM
I know this has been talked about a lot, and I couldn't find a thread that addressed all situations.

Recently Huge Egyptian holding Egyptian Spear was converted with Holy Grail.  Someone asked if the weapons stayed with him and the special ability worked.  Since it was just discarding cards, we ruled that both abilities continued to work, just like the "draw two cards and play the next enhancement" weapons.

But isn't there some kind of rule that certain converted abilities do NOT work, like if it directly harms another hero, or something like that?  Is there a list for every weapon out there for whether or not the ability continues to work?

Thanks again for your help.
Title: Re: Converted Weapons
Post by: alpal455 on June 14, 2010, 09:31:30 AM
I know this has been talked about a lot, and I couldn't find a thread that addressed all situations.

Recently Huge Egyptian holding Egyptian Spear was converted with Holy Grail.  Someone asked if the weapons stayed with him and the special ability worked.  Since it was just discarding cards, we ruled that both abilities continued to work, just like the "draw two cards and play the next enhancement" weapons.

But isn't there some kind of rule that certain converted abilities do NOT work, like if it directly harms another hero, or something like that?  Is there a list for every weapon out there for whether or not the ability continues to work?

Thanks again for your help.

You discard the weapon and that EC's special ability does not work.
Title: Re: Converted Weapons
Post by: Gabe on June 14, 2010, 10:14:33 AM
Weapons convert with the character.  If the ability would directly harm a Hero then the ability will not activate after conversion.  If the ability could indirectly harm a Hero then it will still activate.

In your example, Huge Egyptian and Egyptian Spear don't directly harm Hero when they discard the top card of a player's deck.  It's possible that the top card could be a Hero, but that will not keep it from activating after conversion.

Here's an example of an ability that directly harms a Hero:
Abner's Spear - Holder may discard Abner's Spear to discard a male Hero in battle with abilities of */4 or less.

Title: Re: Converted Weapons
Post by: Korunks on June 14, 2010, 10:53:27 AM
I know I am not an elder but, +1
Title: Re: Converted Weapons
Post by: SirNobody on June 14, 2010, 11:26:18 AM
Hey,

Gabe is correct.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Converted Weapons
Post by: TheJaylor on June 14, 2010, 11:29:58 AM
No SirNobody, you're correct
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal