Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gohanick on August 15, 2010, 11:56:32 PM

Title: Converted Laban vs. Job the invincible
Post by: Gohanick on August 15, 2010, 11:56:32 PM
Situation:

Opponent has Job in territory.

I have stalks of flax active.

May I use stalks to exchange for job? (It's not harm and I do as much as I can on stalks correct?)

Situation +  1:

I also have a dust and ashes in my set-aside and my opponent has a dust and ashes in his set aside. I rescue with my stolen job and my opponent harms job. Where does job go?
Title: Re: Stalks of Flax vs. Job the invincible
Post by: TimMierz on August 15, 2010, 11:59:18 PM
The owner of Job and Dust & Ashes can choose to "instead" Stalks of Flax, because it is harm. Harm is "any effect from cards not of the same alignment (i.e., good, evil, or neutral) targeting a character", and Stalks of Flax is a different alignment than Job.
Title: Re: Stalks of Flax vs. Job the invincible
Post by: Gohanick on August 16, 2010, 12:02:31 AM
interesting...

if that is true... then that begs this question

what happens if job is exhcanged with a converted laban?

Laban (P)

Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gray/Pale Green • Ability: 2 / 7 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may exchange your female Genesis Hero with opponent's male, human Hero for 7 turns. Limit twice per game. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Magician (Syria-Aramea) • Verse: Genesis
Title: Re: Converted Laban vs. Job the invincible
Post by: TimMierz on August 16, 2010, 12:19:18 AM
I'm not sure Laban's ability works when converted, because it would harm a Hero before conversion.
Title: Re: Converted Laban vs. Job the invincible
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on August 16, 2010, 12:21:31 AM
Besides, who's the n00b playing without Magic Charms active ;)

Or House of Rimmon down :)

Title: Re: Converted Laban vs. Job the invincible
Post by: Gohanick on August 16, 2010, 12:23:33 AM
Tim Im suggesting you convert laban then make a RA and then exchanging for job. Exchanging for heroes should still work as a converted ability (Judah exchanges) and it is the same affinity as job
Title: Re: Converted Laban vs. Job the invincible
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 16, 2010, 12:37:04 AM
I know a converted Complainers can exchange heroes as well.
Title: Re: Converted Laban vs. Job the invincible
Post by: Arch Angel on August 16, 2010, 01:14:15 AM
Couldn't any special ability now convert (except Play evil/Band to evil) with the current rule? Nothing a converted EC does can technically harm a hero, since harm can only come from other alignments...  Once the EC is a hero, they're a good alignment, and can thus no longer harm another hero...

-kinda confused-
Title: Re: Stalks of Flax vs. Job the invincible
Post by: JSB23 on August 16, 2010, 02:18:26 AM
The owner of Job and Dust & Ashes can choose to "instead" Stalks of Flax, because it is harm. Harm is "any effect from cards not of the same alignment (i.e., good, evil, or neutral) targeting a character", and Stalks of Flax is a different alignment than Job.
Lolwut?
Since when is exchanging two heroes in territory harm?
And I'd really like to know who thought that definition up
Title: Re: Converted Laban vs. Job the invincible
Post by: Gohanick on August 16, 2010, 12:15:13 PM
anyways... where does an exchanged job go if there are 2 dust and ashes out and he is harmed
Title: Re: Converted Laban vs. Job the invincible
Post by: Professoralstad on August 16, 2010, 12:23:36 PM
anyways... where does an exchanged job go if there are 2 dust and ashes out and he is harmed

If there does happen to be an exchanged Job and two D&A out, then Job would actually go to neither place. D&A says "If your Job is harmed or defeated...". Since your = own + control, then your Job applies to neither player, since one owns it and the other controls it. So if Job is discarded during that battle, he goes to the owner's discard pile.
Title: Re: Converted Laban vs. Job the invincible
Post by: Gohanick on August 16, 2010, 12:33:10 PM
alright didn't recheck that wording. Nice to know that something can be done : ) just need to remove him from discard pile
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal