Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on June 27, 2013, 12:40:44 PM

Title: Converted Egyptian Magicians/Astrologers
Post by: Josh on June 27, 2013, 12:40:44 PM
I attack with a converted Egyptian Magicians (to Green).  The bottom card of my deck is Forest Fire (tin).  Can I add it to battle?

I attack with a converted Astrologers.  The bottom card of my deck is evil.  Does my opponent have to discard a card from territory?  And can it be a hero?  Wasn't sure if the last part would convert, since it can technically target a hero.
Title: Re: Converted Egyptian Magicians/Astrologers
Post by: Professoralstad on June 29, 2013, 04:53:19 PM
I attack with a converted Egyptian Magicians (to Green).  The bottom card of my deck is Forest Fire (tin).  Can I add it to battle?

I attack with a converted Astrologers.  The bottom card of my deck is evil.  Does my opponent have to discard a card from territory?  And can it be a hero?  Wasn't sure if the last part would convert, since it can technically target a hero.

Yes to both. FF is evil, and it is a brigade that EM can play. Since Astrologers doesn't directly target a Hero, its more like Huge Egyptian (which may or may not target a Hero).
Title: Re: Converted Egyptian Magicians/Astrologers
Post by: Josh on July 01, 2013, 11:46:33 AM
Follow-up question to the EM scenario.  If I build a T2 troll deck that sets Ezekiel aside with Gathering of Angels, and I attack with him, underdeck Forest Fire, then band to converted EM, can EM still add Forest Fire to battle?  "Add to battle" is not the same as a "Play" ability if it can add card types other than enhancements, right?
Title: Re: Converted Egyptian Magicians/Astrologers
Post by: Professoralstad on July 01, 2013, 11:50:11 AM
Follow-up question to the EM scenario.  If I build a T2 troll deck that sets Ezekiel aside with Gathering of Angels, and I attack with him, underdeck Forest Fire, then band to converted EM, can EM still add Forest Fire to battle?  "Add to battle" is not the same as a "Play" ability if it can add card types other than enhancements, right?

I guess I don't follow why that would be any different than the previous scenario. Could you explain your thinking a bit more?
Title: Re: Converted Egyptian Magicians/Astrologers
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on July 01, 2013, 11:53:11 AM
I think he means, does "add to battle" count as a "play ability" for Ezekiel's negate?
Title: Re: Converted Egyptian Magicians/Astrologers
Post by: Professoralstad on July 01, 2013, 11:56:42 AM
I think he means, does "add to battle" count as a "play ability" for Ezekiel's negate?

Ah, right. I don't believe so, but I know we've had some unresolved discussions in the past about add to battle vs. play/band/etc. I'd have to await further comment from other Elders to be sure.

Fortunately, I seriously doubt this specific situation will ever matter, but I could see where other situations may cause similar issues.
Title: Re: Converted Egyptian Magicians/Astrologers
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on July 01, 2013, 11:58:38 AM
I think he means, does "add to battle" count as a "play ability" for Ezekiel's negate?

Ah, right. I don't believe so, but I know we've had some unresolved discussions in the past about add to battle vs. play/band/etc. I'd have to await further comment from other Elders to be sure.

Fortunately, I seriously doubt this specific situation will ever matter, but I could see where other situations may cause similar issues.

A more probable situation: Ezekiel vs Evil Spawn (Pi)

Speaking of "Add to Battle," why was that taken out of the REG?
Title: Re: Converted Egyptian Magicians/Astrologers
Post by: Professoralstad on July 01, 2013, 12:02:08 PM
Speaking of "Add to Battle," why was that taken out of the REG?

I don't recall for sure if it ever was in the REG as its own ability, but I seem to remember that it wasn't. I know it has been a topic of discussion for awhile, the differences between AtB and Play/Band, but I will have to try to find out if there was ever any conclusions.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal