Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on September 30, 2009, 09:07:55 PM

Title: Converted Astrologers
Post by: Crashfach2002 on September 30, 2009, 09:07:55 PM
It's S.A. is "Reveal the top or bottom card of deck.  If it is evil, add it to hand and opponent must discard one of his cards from territory, except a Lost Soul.  Cannot be interrupted."  Does the S.A. still work?  It doesn't target a hero, but it does benefit evil.
Title: Re: Converted Astrologers
Post by: YourMathTeacher on September 30, 2009, 09:13:09 PM
I would say yes, since the "targetting heroes" exclusion is the only one I am aware of. "Benefitting evil" is not a consideration since the Warriors Gabriel can discard a good enhancement and Search can get an evil card.
Title: Re: Converted Astrologers
Post by: lightningninja on September 30, 2009, 09:29:42 PM
Actually I do believe it is a rule that heroes cannot have "evil" abilities. I would so no, lol.
Title: Re: Converted Astrologers
Post by: YourMathTeacher on September 30, 2009, 10:32:05 PM
From the REG:

Instant Abilities > Convert > Default Conditions

•      If an Evil Character is converted to a Hero, it’s special ability works as long as it does not harm Heroes.


It would seem, in this case, that your opponent could not discard a hero from his territory to fulfill the cost-effect. I seem to remember there being a discussion that if the SA could potentially harm a hero, then it would not work. If anyone else can remember that thread, then could you refresh me on the final decision?

At face value, this SA does not directly target a hero for harm, so it should work.
Title: Re: Converted Astrologers
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 01, 2009, 02:47:19 AM
From what I remember of the discussion, it would work. Targeting Heroes is different from potentially targeting Heroes, that's why Discard from Hand/Deck EC's still work when converted (if they don't say "while blocking" or something like that).
Title: Re: Converted Astrologers
Post by: lightningninja on October 01, 2009, 02:29:13 PM
Okay, cool. I never checked on how that discussion ends.  ;D
Title: Re: Converted Astrologers
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 01, 2009, 04:42:51 PM
From what I remember of the discussion, it would work. Targeting Heroes is different from potentially targeting Heroes, that's why Discard from Hand/Deck EC's still work when converted (if they don't say "while blocking" or something like that).

Thanks Polarius. That is a good example to prove the point.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal