Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RedemptionAggie on June 25, 2016, 03:03:30 PM

Title: Converted Adonijah
Post by: RedemptionAggie on June 25, 2016, 03:03:30 PM
Adonijah:
Look at opponent's hand. Convert Joab to a black brigade Evil Character. May band to Joab. Cannot be interrupted.

If Adonijah is converted, does "May band to Joab" work as a hero?  At face value, the band can't target a hero, so I think it converts.
Title: Re: Converted Adonijah
Post by: Josh on June 25, 2016, 09:46:41 PM
Any evil band abilities that target specific characters convert.  Converted Ananias can band to converted Sapphira, etc.
Title: Re: Converted Adonijah
Post by: Minister Polarius on June 29, 2016, 07:59:59 PM
It'd be hard to pull off, though, as the Convert isn't optional.
Title: Re: Converted Adonijah
Post by: Praeceps on June 29, 2016, 11:01:01 PM
It would work as a one off if Joab was in hand.
Title: Re: Converted Adonijah
Post by: RedemptionAggie on June 29, 2016, 11:12:30 PM
So does the convert activate as a hero because it just names a specific character, or because the new Joab can be an EC by default?
Title: Re: Converted Adonijah
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 30, 2016, 11:59:11 AM
Here is the relevant REG entry:

Quote
Special abilities on Evil Characters (and evil weapons) that have been converted to Heroes (and good weapons) may activate, except for special abilities that specifically target Heroes when the card is at face value.

Since Adonijah would convert Joab to an EC and then band to him, the band targets an EC at face value. If Joab were protected from conversion, Adonijah would not target him for banding. Therefore, the band ability would convert since it does not target a hero at face value.

Title: Re: Converted Adonijah
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 30, 2016, 12:59:38 PM
So does the convert activate as a hero because it just names a specific character, or because the new Joab can be an EC by default?

Are cards like the new Joab both alignments at face value? (I think they are but I am not sure). If so, then the face value Adonijah can still target a hero for the convert ability, so the ability does not work for a hero Adonijah. That is... unless the REG definition is dynamic and only relates to cards that are currently targetable, which seems weird.

As an aside, I tried to search for the new Joab on this Message Board's search function while I was offline. There was a "security" check to make sure I was not a robot. However I was not able to get past the check. It said that one of my answers was incorrect. It asked "How many letters are in the word 'Redemption'," to which I answered 10. I tried 12, just in case it was a trick question using the quotation marks, but that did not work either. Could someone help this old fool in answering this question for future reference?
Title: Re: Converted Adonijah
Post by: Ironisaac on June 30, 2016, 01:35:08 PM
I think you need to write out the word "ten"
Title: Re: Converted Adonijah
Post by: RedemptionAggie on June 30, 2016, 02:09:57 PM
Quote
Are cards like the new Joab both alignments at face value? (I think they are but I am not sure).

Unless something has changed, yes.

Quote
If so, then the face value Adonijah can still target a hero for the convert ability, so the ability does not work for a hero Adonijah.

Except that's not what the rule says - it doesn't specifically target a hero, just Joab, who can be hero or EC.  If he converted Joab to black and then Joab was converted to another evil color, he'd convert Joab back to black.

It definitely doesn't seem like the convert should work as a hero, but I think it does.
Title: Re: Converted Adonijah
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 01, 2016, 11:03:03 AM
Except that's not what the rule says - it doesn't specifically target a hero, just Joab, who can be hero or EC.  If he converted Joab to black and then Joab was converted to another evil color, he'd convert Joab back to black.

So my statement about the convert rule being "dynamic" is the correct interpretation? The decision for a host/judge depends only on the cards that are in play.

I think you need to write out the word "ten"

LOL, there's something I didn't try. Thanks for the help!  ;D
Title: Re: Converted Adonijah
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 01, 2016, 02:30:59 PM
Are cards like the new Joab both alignments at face value? (I think they are but I am not sure). If so, then the face value Adonijah can still target a hero for the convert ability, so the ability does not work for a hero Adonijah. That is... unless the REG definition is dynamic and only relates to cards that are currently targetable, which seems weird.
Neither Adonijah nor Joab target Heroes, so they both convert. I've never heard of anything having to do with "if a card names a Hero," but the conversion rules clearly allow both abilities to convert.
Quote
Since Adonijah would convert Joab to an EC and then band to him, the band targets an EC at face value. If Joab were protected from conversion, Adonijah would not target him for banding. Therefore, the band ability would convert since it does not target a hero at face value.
This is incorrect. Adonijah has no "band to an Evil Character" ability, he has a convert ability and a band ability. In fact, if your opponent had Joab, you could even convert his Joab and then band to yours. What a card would normally be targeting under regular circumstances has zero bearing on whether a card can convert (unless the SA specifically targets a Hero, not even a card that is usually or may be or could at some point be a Hero) or how the SA is actually worded.

As an aside, I tried to search for the new Joab on this Message Board's search function while I was offline. There was a "security" check to make sure I was not a robot. However I was not able to get past the check. It said that one of my answers was incorrect. It asked "How many letters are in the word 'Redemption'," to which I answered 10. I tried 12, just in case it was a trick question using the quotation marks, but that did not work either. Could someone help this old fool in answering this question for future reference?
Maybe because the answer is 9. There are two "e"s.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal