Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: katedid on September 30, 2011, 10:49:43 PM
-
This came up today in a game. Neither I nor my opponent were sure.
I play Confused Language ( All Evil Characters in play with banding abilities may not band for the rest of the game. Any already banded must return to their territory.) on a CBN banding. Am I right in thinking that this just then returns them to territory and they can continue banding but any bandings that can be negated are for the rest of the game?
-
May not might be a protect, in which case cbn banding doesn't help. They still couldn't band.
-
May not might be a protect, in which case cbn banding doesn't help. They still couldn't band.
"May not" sounds nothing like a protect. It's either a prevent or a restrict, and I'm very much leaning towards the former.
-
Im still not clear on the answer to this question.
-
Confused Languages (Pa)
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: 2 / 1 • Class: None • Special Ability: All Evil Characters in play with banding abilities may not band for the rest of the game. Any already banded must return to their territory. • Play As: Prevent band abilities on Evil Characters in play for remainder of game. Return all banded Evil Characters in battle to territory.
Judging from the play as I'm going to say that they still have to exit battle, because it's a return ability not a negation of banding, but yes since the banding is CNB it also CBP and You can band in later blocks. I could be completely wrong but judging from the play as that should how it's played.
For the first part just an example, If I make a rescue attempt with the 4 TGT girls and TGT up (Making the banding CBN) and My opponent blocks with Goliath it doesn't matter that the banding cannot be negated because Goliath isn't negating the banding he's forcing them to return to territory. Just my 2 cents and I could be wrong. Elders would know better.
-
The question isn't about the withdraw part, it's about the "may not band for the rest of the game." That is a prevent ability.
-
The question isn't about the withdraw part, it's about the "may not band for the rest of the game." That is a prevent ability.
I realize that I was just explaining how I think the full ability works. As I stated the play as is Prevent and Banding that is CBN is also CBP therefore they can band.