Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: CountFount on April 06, 2010, 12:43:29 PM
-
Complainers
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 6 / 6 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate all special abilities on opponent’s Heroes. You may exchange a Hero in battle with a Hero in opponent’s territory. • Identifiers: Generic OT Genderless Human • Verse: Numbers 11:1 • Availability: Faith of Fathers (Set 4)
R/A made. Complainers blocks and chooses a hero that will die by the numbers from opponent. Can player making R/A play something on the original hero which will negate the exchange?
-
No, any negate must be played on the new hero. The original hero never gets init.
-
Even if it passes init?
-
Dying by numbers does not pass special init like dying by SA. Also, exchange does not qualify either for special init.
-
This is from Choose the Blocker/Rescuer in the REG, but it may apply here as well:
The effect may be interrupted or negated by the character(s) being removed if your opponent gains initiative because of the exchange.
-
Marcus is correct.
-
Marcus is correct.
Who is Marcus?
-
redemptionaggie
-
So, you go with a white hero and opponent blocks with Complainers and switches for a non-white hero. If that hero is then losing btn, then you can play Blessings, but if he's winning btn at that point and then Complainers plays a battle winner, you can't play Words of Encouragement to interrupt? Is that the deal?
By the way, while writing this I had a very powerful feeling of déjà vu; I'm sure I've talked about interrupting Complainers or something like that before.
-
Yes sir.
-
So, you go with a white hero and opponent blocks with Complainers and switches for a non-white hero. If that hero is then losing btn, then you can play Blessings, but if he's winning btn at that point and then Complainers plays a battle winner, you can't play Words of Encouragement to interrupt. Is that the deal?
That is what I hear them saying. Speaking of déjà vu, How did you know that it was an exchange of Mary Magdalene for the Angel in the Path? Seriously. ???
-
Speaking of déjà vu, How did you know that it was an exchange of Mary Magdalene for the Angel in the Path?
Are you talking about me? Did I say that?
-
Bump so I can negate with either hero?
-
Only if the second hero has initiative vs. Complainers. So if you block my Salome with Complainers and choose Lois, I can play Blessings to negate Complainers. But if you choose Gabriel, I could not play Blessings (or any other enhancement) since it's your initiative.