Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Praeceps on May 30, 2016, 10:44:44 PM
-
I play Faith of Jephthah on Faithful Leaders. My opponent has no way to stop this. What is the status of the targeted character after all abilities resolve?
Faith of Jephthah - You may discard an evil Enhancement from hand to convert an Evil Character in battle to a brigade matching the discarded Enhancement.
The Faithful Leaders - If an Evil Character is converted, it gains clay brigade and the same church identifier as this Hero. You may take it to your territory.
-
Evil character cannot 'gain' a good brigade, though I suppose they could get a church identifier. Obviously, Faithful Leaders is intended to work when someone is converted to a Hero, but you have hit on a great combination.
"Gaining" a good brigade is not something that works, IMO, since it cannot have both the evil brigade and Clay, and it is "gaining" it not "becoming" it. However, I'd have to say that (as written) the EC would be taken to territory and it gains the church identifier...before it is taken, though, they'd have SI to play (though in the new brigade).
Any other Elder want to weigh in on this one?
-
Evil character cannot 'gain' a good brigade, though I suppose they could get a church identifier. Obviously, Faithful Leaders is intended to work when someone is converted to a Hero, but you have hit on a great combination.
"Gaining" a good brigade is not something that works, IMO, since it cannot have both the evil brigade and Clay, and it is "gaining" it not "becoming" it. However, I'd have to say that (as written) the EC would be taken to territory and it gains the church identifier...before it is taken, though, they'd have SI to play (though in the new brigade).
Any other Elder want to weigh in on this one?
Id make an evil Philipi church member lol. Can we make a rule that if a church member is converted to an evil brigade or and evil character gains a church, that they are heretics? ;)
-
What happens if you discard a DAE or Philosophy?
According to the wording on Faith of Jephthah, - "You may discard an evil Enhancement from hand to convert an Evil Character in battle to a brigade matching the discarded Enhancement."
It would seem that when you choose the brigade, the enhancement is already in discard pile where it should reset to include both it's good and evil brigades in what is referred to as, "brigade matching the discarded Enhancement."
-
It may be in discard AFTER the ability resolves, but the ability is still using it and referencing it as "evil" so only the evil brigade can be applied.
-
The discarded enhancement is grammatically tied to the "evil Enhancement" earlier in the special ability, but otherwise your logic would be sound.
-
Okay. Sounds good.