Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: The Guardian on July 19, 2009, 01:25:57 AM

Title: Christian Suing Another
Post by: The Guardian on July 19, 2009, 01:25:57 AM
If two Heroes are banded and the blocker plays Christian Suing Another, can the blocker force the banded Heroes to fight each other?

The question arises because of the wording on CSA that says "the rescuing Hero." In this case both of the Heroes are a "rescuing Hero" so are they legitimate targets to be chosen as the "Hero in play" that fights "the rescuing Hero."


Christian Suing Another
Holder interrupts the battle and chooses a Hero in play to fight the rescuing Hero. The loser is discarded.
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on July 19, 2009, 01:28:45 AM
I say no.

Christian Suing Another clearly states both sides of the battle, A hero, and then the rescuing hero. If you read the text backwards it makes perfect sense - Force the rescuing Hero to fight a Hero in play - Because both Hero's are "Rescuing Hero's" They are no longer legitimate targets for the hero in play because they're already in the side battle. make sense?
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: The Guardian on July 19, 2009, 01:31:27 AM
That was my line of thinking also, but not everyone in the discussion we had agreed so wanted to hear some other input.
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: Arch Angel on July 19, 2009, 01:32:27 AM
For some reason I remember a ruling that the "rescuing hero" was the first hero that entered battle, but I don't remember where I got that.
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on July 19, 2009, 01:33:07 AM
If that's so then Christian Martyring that hero causes you to lose because the other hero's aren't making a rescue attempt.
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: STAMP on July 19, 2009, 12:12:24 PM
If two Heroes are banded and the blocker plays Christian Suing Another, can the blocker force the banded Heroes to fight each other?

The question arises because of the wording on CSA that says "the rescuing Hero." In this case both of the Heroes are a "rescuing Hero" so are they legitimate targets to be chosen as the "Hero in play" that fights "the rescuing Hero."


Christian Suing Another
Holder interrupts the battle and chooses a Hero in play to fight the rescuing Hero. The loser is discarded.


Yes.
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: BubbleBoy on July 19, 2009, 12:37:39 PM
Hm...if it said "a rescuing hero" then I would have a much stronger argument, but I would still think that you can cause both heroes in battle to fight each other. I mean, heroes in battle are still considered in play, right? So why wouldn't you be able to choose a hero in battle to fight a hero in battle, since one is in battle and the other is in play? Call me stubborn, but I would sooner believe that CSA's SA simply wouldn't work in this scenario than believe what everyone else is saying. ...
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: Gabe on July 19, 2009, 03:42:05 PM
Any Hero in battle qualifies as the "rescuing Hero".  A Hero in battle is also considered "in play".  I see no reason you can't choose two Heroes from the battle to fight one another.
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: BubbleBoy on July 19, 2009, 03:50:57 PM
Thank you Gabe! :police: O0
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: everytribe on July 19, 2009, 07:34:15 PM
Any Hero in battle qualifies as the "rescuing Hero".  A Hero in battle is also considered "in play".  I see no reason you can't choose two Heroes from the battle to fight one another.

One reason is if the judge rules it that way. 8)
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: BubbleBoy on July 19, 2009, 09:38:44 PM
We win, because my dude has an afro. ;D
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: The Guardian on July 20, 2009, 06:31:29 PM
Can we get an official answer for this? Seems it would make a sensible "special conditions" entry for the new REG so might as well get it figured out now.
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: STAMP on July 20, 2009, 06:37:17 PM
Can we get an official answer for this? Seems it would make a sensible "special conditions" entry for the new REG so might as well get it figured out now.

YES.


 ;)
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: SirNobody on July 21, 2009, 03:58:46 PM
Hey,

I agree with Gabe.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Christian Suing Another
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 21, 2009, 05:14:45 PM
I also agree, especially due to the following wording from the REG that suggests the two heroes could have already been in battle together:

Instant Abilities > Fight Each Other > How to Use

If both of the selected characters are being controlled by the same player in the original battle, the player of the side battle ability chooses which one he will control in the side battle.  The player that controls a character controls any banding special abilities (if applicable). However, characters in a side battle cannot band to characters already in the Field of Battle. If one or more characters already in the field of battle are selected to fight in a side battle, their special abilities do not reactivate.

SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal