Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Minister Polarius on August 27, 2009, 01:35:05 PM

Title: Chosing the Blocker
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 27, 2009, 01:35:05 PM
I RA David and am blocked by a Black EC. He plays Wrath. I play Unified Kingdom to bring in Amaziah. Does CTB mean that all current EC's withdraw and are replaced with the new one? If so, and I chose a Brigade other than Black, that essentially Negates Wrath, right?
Title: Re: Chosing the Blocker
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on August 27, 2009, 01:37:08 PM
Quote
Does CTB mean that all current EC's withdraw and are replaced with the new one?
Yes

Quote
If so, and I chose a Brigade other than Black, that essentially Negates Wrath, right?
Yes.  Wrath no longer has a target in battle, so it is discarded before it can reactivate.
Title: Re: Chosing the Blocker
Post by: Professoralstad on August 27, 2009, 01:39:46 PM
Yep. Just as if you were somehow able to ItB and play Obedience of Noah. CtB removes all EC's from battle just like any other remove from battle ability.

However, if you choose a guy that would be losing, he could play a black interrupt like JiP, since his black guy would be losing by removal.
Title: Re: Chosing the Blocker
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 27, 2009, 01:42:16 PM
Not if I play AoTL or Grapes, right?
Title: Re: Chosing the Blocker
Post by: Professoralstad on August 27, 2009, 01:46:23 PM
Not if I play AoTL or Grapes, right?

Right. In that case no one would be discarded except the chosen EC, and the battle is resolved from that point.
Title: Re: Chosing the Blocker
Post by: Captain Kirk on August 27, 2009, 02:52:32 PM
I RA David and am blocked by a Black EC. He plays Wrath. I play Unified Kingdom to bring in Amaziah. Does CTB mean that all current EC's withdraw and are replaced with the new one? If so, and I chose a Brigade other than Black, that essentially Negates Wrath, right?

Except Unified Kingdom says "interrupt Wall of Protection," not "interrupt the battle."  Therefore it is not a legal play.

Kirk
Title: Re: Chosing the Blocker
Post by: BubbleBoy on August 27, 2009, 02:55:29 PM
I thought the use of Reach was implied.
Title: Re: Chosing the Blocker
Post by: SirNobody on August 27, 2009, 04:26:11 PM
Hey,

Not if I play AoTL or Grapes, right?

Assuming Reach is played before Unifying Kingdom so that the scenario works.

If you play Angel of the Lord, then the Evil side of battle is still losing, and the black character was still defeated by the enhancement played in battle, so the defender could still use a black negate.  Using Angel of the Lord changes it from a exchange sort of scenario to a forced with draw sort of scenario.  In both cases the evil character (assuming it ends up with initiative) can play a negate of the brigade of the character removed.

If you play Grapes of Wrath, then all of the heroes would be removed from battle and thus the evil side of battle wouldn't have initiative.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Chosing the Blocker
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 27, 2009, 05:43:26 PM
Yet another fantastic use for Grapes! I love this card more and more every day!
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal