Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: TXJonathan on August 07, 2011, 01:02:12 PM
-
If a curse is activated on Chorazin and Chorazin is taken by opponent by Land Dispute, then does the opponent get control of the curse for that one turn? Or does the curse's owner still retain control and it returns to owner's artifact pile after the one turn?
Chorazin (Di)
Type: Site • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect N.T. Evil Characters in your territory from conversion. When a Lost Soul is placed in this Site, you may activate a Curse here for one turn. • Identifiers: Jew • Verse: Matthew 11:21
Land Dispute (TP)
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 1 / 3 • Class: Territory • Special Ability: If used by a Philistine, take an opponent's Site. If he doesn't have one, discard one of his Fortresses instead. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Genesis 26:20 •
-
Interesting that the REG does not seem to address this scenario. I was hoping for something about guards on sites if the site is taken, or artifacts on characters, but I couldn't find anything in a quick search.
Since this is open for debate, I would likely rule that the curse goes back to the player who lost the site, and is placed in their artifact pile face down. Any ongoing ability would not be negated, which seems like a problem, but discarding the curse would have the same result.
The only current comparable default is that if there was a LS in the site, the LS would stay, which is why I think the curse should stay (in the only appropriate place in territory).
My :2cents:
-
I think the curse should stay active in the opponent's territory and still be controlled by the owner for the one turn because other cards special abilities work in opponent's territory.
-
I think the rule is that guards follow sites. If that's true, then I imagine curses do as well, although there really isn't a precedent to this.
-
I think the rule is that guards follow sites. If that's true, then I imagine curses do as well, although there really isn't a precedent to this.
I guess the real question is whether or not it follows the rules for "placed" cards, or if it fits into its own category.
-
i see no reason it would not follow the site.
-
Now that I think of Magic Charms, I'm pretty sure it would follow the site. However, I have no idea where the curse would go once it's deactivated.
-
i see no reason it would not follow the site.
That is not the precedent for sites. I already gave the example of LSs in a site not following the site. There is no set default for this situation involving a site. We're not talking about a character here.
-
if anything, cards activated on characters would be the precedent. a banded to magician with magic charms does not lose his magic charms.
-
Lost Souls are the exception to the site default, not the default itself. I believe MKC is correct.
-
By default, cards always follow the cards they are placed on, with two exceptions (that I know of): LS's on Sites, and Weapons on Warriors when captured. I would rule that the Curse would follow the site and remain active, and I believe that the person who now controls the curse could use it. However, if the Curse is deactivated or discarded, then it would return to the owner's artifact or discard pile.
-
However, if the Curse is deactivated or discarded, then it would return to the owner's artifact or discard pile.
This is the part that I do not understand. Why would an artifact deactivated in my territory go to another player's Artifact Pile? Take the Magic Charms example. If I use Seven Wicked Spirits to take their magician with Magic Charms, why would the deactivated artifact not go into my Art Pile? I am not relinquishing control of the character/site, so why do I lose control of the artifact?
The default for discard is already well known. The same default applies to shuffle. Those defaults are for cards that are reset. But if the cards remain in play or territory, there is no such default.
-
I agree with the professor except that taking control of a card does not necessarily also give control of cards placed on it. The Site would be taken, the Curse would be active until the end of its timer, it would remain under the control of the owner and not the person who took the Site, and when its time is up it goes back to the owner's art pile.