Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on July 05, 2017, 10:19:42 AM

Title: Checking some old rulings
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on July 05, 2017, 10:19:42 AM
1. Just a Hireling: Discard your Sadducee or Pharisee to shuffle up to three Lost Souls into deck.

Do you have to play this on a Sadducee or Pharisee and discard that Sadducee or Pharisee to use this?

2. 30 pieces of silver: Regardless of battle outcome, discard one Hero in play at the end of battle that you blocked. Negate David's Harp. May be used once per battle and twice per game.

If you activate it, does that count as one of the "twice per game" even if you don't discard a hero?

3.  Household Idols: Errata/Play As: Banding of Heroes is prevented. Good banding cards are ignored.

I asked this a month or so ago but don't remember getting a clear answer.  What happens if you start a RA with a hero with a banding ability from hand?  Do you get infinite initiative once a EC blocks?  if an EC doesn't block to get ret to rescue a LS?
Title: Re: Checking some old rulings
Post by: Kevinthedude on July 05, 2017, 10:34:45 AM
1. Just a Hireling: Discard your Sadducee or Pharisee to shuffle up to three Lost Souls into deck.

Do you have to play this on a Sadducee or Pharisee and discard that Sadducee or Pharisee to use this?

2. 30 pieces of silver: Regardless of battle outcome, discard one Hero in play at the end of battle that you blocked. Negate David's Harp. May be used once per battle and twice per game.

If you activate it, does that count as one of the "twice per game" even if you don't discard a hero?

3.  Household Idols: Errata/Play As: Banding of Heroes is prevented. Good banding cards are ignored.

I asked this a month or so ago but don't remember getting a clear answer.  What happens if you start a RA with a hero with a banding ability from hand?  Do you get infinite initiative once a EC blocks?  if an EC doesn't block to get ret to rescue a LS?

1. Play on, no. You just have to have ownership and control of one to discard for the effect to work.

2. I would think the uses count when you actually discard a Hero with it, so it would be used up after discarding two Heroes.

3. If you attack from hand you would be ignored by the artifact and would practically have infinite initiative. If no EC blocks you don't get the soul because you are still ignored.
Title: Re: Checking some old rulings
Post by: Ivek on July 06, 2017, 10:41:13 AM
1. Just a Hireling: Discard your Sadducee or Pharisee to shuffle up to three Lost Souls into deck.

Do you have to play this on a Sadducee or Pharisee and discard that Sadducee or Pharisee to use this?

2. 30 pieces of silver: Regardless of battle outcome, discard one Hero in play at the end of battle that you blocked. Negate David's Harp. May be used once per battle and twice per game.

If you activate it, does that count as one of the "twice per game" even if you don't discard a hero?

3.  Household Idols: Errata/Play As: Banding of Heroes is prevented. Good banding cards are ignored.

I asked this a month or so ago but don't remember getting a clear answer.  What happens if you start a RA with a hero with a banding ability from hand?  Do you get infinite initiative once a EC blocks?  if an EC doesn't block to get ret to rescue a LS?

1. Play on, no. You just have to have ownership and control of one to discard for the effect to work.

2. I would think the uses count when you actually discard a Hero with it, so it would be used up after discarding two Heroes.

3. If you attack from hand you would be ignored by the artifact and would practically have infinite initiative. If no EC blocks you don't get the soul because you are still ignored.

2. May be used twice per game means it may be activated twice, then it is discarded when it deactivates.
Title: Re: Checking some old rulings
Post by: Kevinthedude on July 06, 2017, 10:50:55 AM
1. Just a Hireling: Discard your Sadducee or Pharisee to shuffle up to three Lost Souls into deck.

Do you have to play this on a Sadducee or Pharisee and discard that Sadducee or Pharisee to use this?

2. 30 pieces of silver: Regardless of battle outcome, discard one Hero in play at the end of battle that you blocked. Negate David's Harp. May be used once per battle and twice per game.

If you activate it, does that count as one of the "twice per game" even if you don't discard a hero?

3.  Household Idols: Errata/Play As: Banding of Heroes is prevented. Good banding cards are ignored.

I asked this a month or so ago but don't remember getting a clear answer.  What happens if you start a RA with a hero with a banding ability from hand?  Do you get infinite initiative once a EC blocks?  if an EC doesn't block to get ret to rescue a LS?

1. Play on, no. You just have to have ownership and control of one to discard for the effect to work.

2. I would think the uses count when you actually discard a Hero with it, so it would be used up after discarding two Heroes.

3. If you attack from hand you would be ignored by the artifact and would practically have infinite initiative. If no EC blocks you don't get the soul because you are still ignored.

2. May be used twice per game means it may be activated twice, then it is discarded when it deactivates.

Ark of the Covenant is limited by discards not activations and since Ark and Pieces of Silver do the same thing (Except that one targets ECs and one targets Heroes) I would think they work the same way.
Title: Re: Checking some old rulings
Post by: ChristianSoldier on July 06, 2017, 04:41:46 PM
1. Just a Hireling: Discard your Sadducee or Pharisee to shuffle up to three Lost Souls into deck.

Do you have to play this on a Sadducee or Pharisee and discard that Sadducee or Pharisee to use this?

2. 30 pieces of silver: Regardless of battle outcome, discard one Hero in play at the end of battle that you blocked. Negate David's Harp. May be used once per battle and twice per game.

If you activate it, does that count as one of the "twice per game" even if you don't discard a hero?

3.  Household Idols: Errata/Play As: Banding of Heroes is prevented. Good banding cards are ignored.

I asked this a month or so ago but don't remember getting a clear answer.  What happens if you start a RA with a hero with a banding ability from hand?  Do you get infinite initiative once a EC blocks?  if an EC doesn't block to get ret to rescue a LS?

1. Play on, no. You just have to have ownership and control of one to discard for the effect to work.

2. I would think the uses count when you actually discard a Hero with it, so it would be used up after discarding two Heroes.

3. If you attack from hand you would be ignored by the artifact and would practically have infinite initiative. If no EC blocks you don't get the soul because you are still ignored.

2. May be used twice per game means it may be activated twice, then it is discarded when it deactivates.

Ark of the Covenant is limited by discards not activations and since Ark and Pieces of Silver do the same thing (Except that one targets ECs and one targets Heroes) I would think they work the same way.

But Ark of the Covenant and 30 Pieces of Silver are worded very differently, the fact that superficially they both have a similar result doesn't mean that they should work the same way. Especially since 30 Pieces of Silver is obviously an ongoing limited use ability while Ark of the Covenant is limited by discards.

From reading the cards I would conclude that Ark of the Covenant would actually have to discard 2 evil characters to reach it's use limit, but 30 Pieces of Silver would be able to discard as many heroes at possible (once per battle) for up to two rounds.
Title: Re: Checking some old rulings
Post by: megamanlan on July 07, 2017, 02:08:45 AM
1. Just a Hireling: Discard your Sadducee or Pharisee to shuffle up to three Lost Souls into deck.

Do you have to play this on a Sadducee or Pharisee and discard that Sadducee or Pharisee to use this?

2. 30 pieces of silver: Regardless of battle outcome, discard one Hero in play at the end of battle that you blocked. Negate David's Harp. May be used once per battle and twice per game.

If you activate it, does that count as one of the "twice per game" even if you don't discard a hero?

3.  Household Idols: Errata/Play As: Banding of Heroes is prevented. Good banding cards are ignored.

I asked this a month or so ago but don't remember getting a clear answer.  What happens if you start a RA with a hero with a banding ability from hand?  Do you get infinite initiative once a EC blocks?  if an EC doesn't block to get ret to rescue a LS?

1. Play on, no. You just have to have ownership and control of one to discard for the effect to work.

2. I would think the uses count when you actually discard a Hero with it, so it would be used up after discarding two Heroes.

3. If you attack from hand you would be ignored by the artifact and would practically have infinite initiative. If no EC blocks you don't get the soul because you are still ignored.

2. May be used twice per game means it may be activated twice, then it is discarded when it deactivates.

Ark of the Covenant is limited by discards not activations and since Ark and Pieces of Silver do the same thing (Except that one targets ECs and one targets Heroes) I would think they work the same way.

But Ark of the Covenant and 30 Pieces of Silver are worded very differently, the fact that superficially they both have a similar result doesn't mean that they should work the same way. Especially since 30 Pieces of Silver is obviously an ongoing limited use ability while Ark of the Covenant is limited by discards.

From reading the cards I would conclude that Ark of the Covenant would actually have to discard 2 evil characters to reach it's use limit, but 30 Pieces of Silver would be able to discard as many heroes at possible (once per battle) for up to two rounds.

30 pieces can't pitch all Heroes in the battle. The wording implies one which I remember is ruled as 1.
Title: Re: Checking some old rulings
Post by: Ivek on July 07, 2017, 06:32:09 AM
Ark of the Covenant is limited by discards not activations and since Ark and Pieces of Silver do the same thing (Except that one targets ECs and one targets Heroes) I would think they work the same way.

Independent of the fact how Ark of the Covenant is worded, with the wording of 30 Pieces of Silver it is very obvious what it does:

1. "Regardless of battle outcome, discard one Hero in play at the end of battle that you blocked."
  - this is a trigger ability which triggers at the end of battle
2. "Negate David's Harp"
  - if there is no David's Harp in play then it works as a prevent ability
3. "May be used twice"
  - refers to the whole ability (1. + 2.) which may be used twice = you may activate the artifact twice, then after deactivation discard it

Now the wording of the Ark of the Covenant:
"Regardless of battle outcome, any Evil Character an opponent uses to block a rescue attempt is discarded at the end of battle.  Limit Holder to two such discards per game."

- Here it says: "Limit holder to two such discards per game." and not "May be used twice"

I think that the REG lacks of the proper explanation of the "May be used N-times" phrase, which would make our discussion simpler...
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal