Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: STAMP on March 24, 2010, 04:59:38 PM

Title: Chariot of Fire clarification
Post by: STAMP on March 24, 2010, 04:59:38 PM
Chariot of Fire
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Following your rescue attempt, return all Heroes in your discard pile to your draw pile. Shuffle draw pile. • Identifiers: None • Verse: II Kings 2:11 • Availability: Warriors booster packs (Uncommon) and Promotional cards (2005 Tournament Winner)

I was reading another thread that made me ponder this thought: since the trigger on CoF can be met mid-battle (by RA switching to BC), wouldn't I be able to shuffle my heroes at that time and then continue the battle challenge after the shuffle?
Title: Re: Chariot of Fire clarification
Post by: sk on March 24, 2010, 05:02:52 PM
That's how I've played it.
Title: Re: Chariot of Fire clarification
Post by: mjwolfe on March 24, 2010, 08:26:11 PM
I've never heard of a ruling like this. I think that your rescue attempt is not over until after battle resolution. Prior to battle resolution your rescue attempt could become a battle challenge but then revert back to a rescue attempt. If this happens, it is NOT starting a second rescue attempt, it is still the first. So the status of the battle can change from battle challenge to rescue attempt as many times as necessary, but it only ends once. Following that......you can shuffle your characters.

Mike
Title: Re: Chariot of Fire clarification
Post by: Shofarblower on March 24, 2010, 09:38:56 PM
Mike's answer seems logical to me. If I have access to 2 souls, */4 and Female only. I attack with a male hero and the opponent buries the */4 ls. It is now a BC. Then I band in a female hero and it is a RA again. He plays CM on my Female hero. BC again, then I D3 play next and the Hopper comes out, RA again. It can go on and on.
Title: Re: Chariot of Fire clarification
Post by: STAMP on March 24, 2010, 10:22:37 PM
Again, new REG is coming so I'm bringing stuff up.  RA changed to BC trips the trigger.  Although your explanations seem logical there is nothing in the rules that states anything about waiting for RA/BC triggers to be determined at battle resolution.  There are other cards this impacts so there should be some clear definition to understand how different triggers are evaluated for RA and BC and changes to each.
Title: Re: Chariot of Fire clarification
Post by: mjwolfe on March 24, 2010, 10:30:23 PM
Scott, I don't think that RA changed to BC trips the trigger. The trigger is "Following" your rescue attempt. One event only follows another if it comes AFTER. For the shuffling to come AFTER your rescue attempt, your rescue attempt has to have finished. It's only finished after battle resolution. It is not finished just because a RA switches to a BC.

Mike
Title: Re: Chariot of Fire clarification
Post by: sk on March 24, 2010, 11:03:51 PM
This REG entry (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/default.htm?turl=defaultconditions231.htm) made me think it worked:
Battles where special abilities are triggered by the “end of a rescue attempt” only need to have been a rescue attempt at some point in the battle.

Re-reading that after Mike's responses, however, makes me think I misinterpreted it.  I don't see anything in the new or old REG specifically saying one way or the other, so either way, we need a decision/clarification.
Title: Re: Chariot of Fire clarification
Post by: Prof Underwood on March 24, 2010, 11:48:42 PM
Scott, I don't think that RA changed to BC trips the trigger. The trigger is "Following" your rescue attempt. One event only follows another if it comes AFTER. For the shuffling to come AFTER your rescue attempt, your rescue attempt has to have finished. It's only finished after battle resolution. It is not finished just because a RA switches to a BC.
+1
Title: Re: Chariot of Fire clarification
Post by: STAMP on March 25, 2010, 11:27:15 AM
This REG entry (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/default.htm?turl=defaultconditions231.htm) made me think it worked:
Battles where special abilities are triggered by the “end of a rescue attempt” only need to have been a rescue attempt at some point in the battle.

Re-reading that after Mike's responses, however, makes me think I misinterpreted it.  I don't see anything in the new or old REG specifically saying one way or the other, so either way, we need a decision/clarification.

That REG entry is ambiguous.  I'll start another thread to request a new REG clarification.
Title: Re: Chariot of Fire clarification
Post by: mjwolfe on March 25, 2010, 01:11:45 PM
There is a relevant discussion found in this topic. (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=12286.0) See the post my Tim Maly at the end of the first page.

Mike


SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal