Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gabe on August 15, 2011, 12:26:27 AM
-
When rescued with Son of God and New Jerusalem the user selects the order the Lost Soul abilities trigger. Since simultaneous actions (such as banding Captain in before TSA when Second Seal is played) allows the user to select the order, then you SHOULD be able to rescue the protect and then the shuffle, thus allowing the shuffle to happen.
This overturns the previous ruling that Lost Souls do not shuffle when Thorns and Shuffler are rescued together.
Please visit this post (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/rule-changesclarifications-for-2011-2012-tournament-season/msg434385/#new) to see all the changes and clarifications for the 2011-2012 tournament season.
-
I was all prepared to argue this because it seemed like it was going to continue to be ruled the other way, so this is indeed a pleasant surprise. :D
-
I was all prepared to argue this because it seemed like it was going to continue to be ruled the other way, so this is indeed a pleasant surprise. :D
I won the fight that I picked earlier (actually, it wasn't really a fight, as my logic was undeniably sound).
-
Could I hear the logic behind this decision? I could see this being the case, but how is this consistent with the Judas' Plot vs. SoG/NJ ruling?
-
Could I hear the logic behind this decision? I could see this being the case, but how is this consistent with the Judas' Plot vs. SoG/NJ ruling?
The logic is that since Thorns is only active while in play, and the triggered ability of Shuffler and the triggered cessation of Thorns happen simultaneously, then the person can choose either one to occur first. Thus, you can choose the Thorns to stop working then the Shuffler to start working, shuffling all souls, or you can choose just the opposite.
I see no inconsistency with JP vs. SoG/NJ, could you explain further?
-
I guess I was just confused by the wording, "You may choose to rescue the protect and then the shuffle," which indicates that SoG and NJ are not played simultaneously. But if it's just a matter of choosing the order in which the abilities on the souls are activated/deactivated, that makes perfect sense.
-
I guess I was just confused by the wording, "You may choose to rescue the protect and then the shuffle," which indicates that SoG and NJ are not played simultaneously. But if it's just a matter of choosing the order in which the abilities on the souls are activated/deactivated, that makes perfect sense.
Ah yes, I see that now. What Gabe stated is slightly different than what I believe was discussed, perhaps he misunderstood slightly? I'll let him comment here.
-
Updated the original post. Hope that's clearer.