Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: TheHobbit13 on December 28, 2011, 10:57:34 PM
-
If my opponent d/c the top card of my deck and it is an angel does it go to chamber?
-
Yes. Triggered abilities do not have the "in play" designation.
-
Actually I was reading a discussion on this (I can try to find it later) that notes while in ur Deck Characters don't 'Officially' have Identifiers. Basically the ruling is Angels don't go to Chamber if Discarded from the Deck.
This is to stop the Chamber/Gates Combo that was kindof crazy.
-
If characters don't have identifiers in deck then the new Wheel Within a Wheel's search (in deck) doesn't work and is useless.
-
Interesting. Additionally, if "no identifier while in deck" is true, identifier would be active at the moment the card left the deck, by whatever means, in order to fulfill effects such as "if that card is a (ls, angel, demon, etc.)"
-
I agree with browarod that identifiers must work in deck for search/exchange abilities. The only exception (by definition) would be cards like curses/covenants that are only curse/covenant in deck, not enhancement or artifact.
-
Just as a confirmation, angels from deck (and presumably hand, set-aside, wherever) do go to the Chamber when discarded.
Professoralstad confirms that here: http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/gates-of-hell-vs-chamber-of-angels/msg429896/#msg429896
-
You all have the right answer, but the wrong reason. It's not triggered abilities that don't default to "in-play," it's "instead" abilities. Chamber is treated as an instead ability (I forget if it's technically worded that way), and the ruling on "instead" abilities is that they target the ability they're insteading, not the card being insteaded. That's why a Job being Discarded from set-aside will still go to DnA; DnA is targeting whatever is Discarding Job, not Job himself.
-
Okay thanks for your answers.
-
Actually I was reading a discussion on this (I can try to find it later) that notes while in ur Deck Characters don't 'Officially' have Identifiers. Basically the ruling is Angels don't go to Chamber if Discarded from the Deck.
This is to stop the Chamber/Gates Combo that was kindof crazy.
The ruling for that is that you can't heal characters that were discarded with Gates.
-
On a side note what happens to whith duplicates and chamber?
-
On a side note what happens to whith duplicates and chamber?
I think they're discarded, to avoid an infinite loop, but get a second opinion on this one.
-
Idk, All I know is that Angels can't hit Chamber from Deck. I should know since I believe I'm the only one who plays Angels properly. (No Human Clogs)
That is the ruling from my Tournament and the one I saw on here.
-
Idk, All I know is that Angels can't hit Chamber from Deck. I should know since I believe I'm the only one who plays Angels properly. (No Human Clogs)
That is the ruling from my Tournament and the one I saw on here.
That is not the correct ruling.
-
Idk, All I know is that Angels can't hit Chamber from Deck. I should know since I believe I'm the only one who plays Angels properly. (No Human Clogs)
That is the ruling from my Tournament and the one I saw on here.
If you're going to claim that you saw a different ruling on here, you should link to it.