Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: D-man on April 15, 2010, 11:37:04 AM

Title: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: D-man on April 15, 2010, 11:37:04 AM
I just thought of this situation while in a game the other day and wasn't sure how it would be ruled.

I attempt a rescue with The Generous Widow, and my opponent blocks with Lot's Wife banded to Philistine Priests.  I play Meeting the Messiah to convert Lot's Wife to gold.  Still my initiative, so my opponent cannot play an interrupt at this point.  I then use Repentance and Restitution (which can't be negated by evil cards) to convert Philly Priests.  My opponent now plays Devourer, which doesn't stop R&R but does get rid of MtM, causing Lot's Wife to reenter battle.  So my question is: even though my battlewinner is CBN, does my opponent still have initiative to play an interrupt?

Repentance and Restitution:  Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: 4 / 1 •  Special Ability: If used by a Luke Hero, convert a human Evil Character to a gold brigade Hero. Cannot be negated by an evil card. If rescue attempt is successful, opponent must draw four cards.

Meeting the Messiah:  Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: 2 / 2 • Special Ability: If used by a Luke or John Hero, convert a human Evil Character to a gold Hero. Its owner must draw two cards.

Devourer: Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 2 / 3 •  Special Ability: Interrupt and discard all good enhancements now in play.
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 15, 2010, 11:46:59 AM
This is quite interesting. I have always played that if I am blocking two characters, and I get rid of one by a negatable battle-winner and then CM the other, my opponent cannot interrupt. It's possible I've been playing incorrectly, however...
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on April 15, 2010, 11:49:11 AM
My gut says that you cannot interrupt, but I'm not sure.
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on April 15, 2010, 11:52:27 AM
My gut says that you cannot interrupt, but I'm not sure.
Your gut is right. Once the ec has been removed from battle all enhancements MUST be played on the other EC. It doesn't work. Also since the first EC is gone, the window for ITB (what devourer says) is gone. Even if it was bringing fear it wouldn't work because the ec is w/e color it is now.

P.s. Just broadcast how you killed my poor lots wife/PPriests *sniffles*
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: Professoralstad on April 15, 2010, 12:02:55 PM
My gut says that you cannot interrupt, but I'm not sure.
Your gut is right. Once the ec has been removed from battle all enhancements MUST be played on the other EC. It doesn't work. Also since the first EC is gone, the window for ITB (what devourer says) is gone. Even if it was bringing fear it wouldn't work because the ec is w/e color it is now.

P.s. Just broadcast how you killed my poor lots wife/PPriests *sniffles*

+1. You can only interrupt a battle winner when there is someone there to interrupt it. By the time PPriests is converted, he's the only one left, and since he can't interrupt the fact that he's a hero, he can't play Devourer.
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: D-man on April 15, 2010, 12:12:20 PM
That sounds reasonable.  Thanks!

P.S. Sorry to hurt your feelings RR, I'm so insensitive ;)
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: Korunks on April 15, 2010, 03:50:25 PM
Quote
You can only interrupt a battle winner when there is someone there to interrupt it. By the time PPriests is converted, he's the only one left, and since he can't interrupt the fact that he's a hero, he can't play Devourer.

I am not sure I agree with this.  If I am in a 1 vs 1 battle and my opponent plays a conversion I DO get initiative to negate it. So the only difference I see in this situation is he is losing to a CBN battle winner and can he play an interrupt even if it won't save him.  I would actually lean towards saying you could play Bringing fear, but that is my opinion and therefore probably wrong. :)
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on April 15, 2010, 04:01:26 PM
The issue is the battle winner was CBN, so you can't negate it.
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: Professoralstad on April 15, 2010, 04:06:44 PM
You don't get initiative to play an enhancement when you're being defeated by a battle winner, you get initiative to interrupt. Which of course usually takes the form of playing an enhancement, but it can also take the form of The Silver Trumpets or Name of the Lord, to name a few alternatives. Thus, if you can't interrupt something, you don't get initiative to play/do anything at all.
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 15, 2010, 05:01:58 PM
Do the rules say you have initiative to interrupt if opponent plays a battle-winner unless that battle-winner is CBI?
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: 12tipton3 on April 15, 2010, 05:33:54 PM
cbn means cbn. cbn is interrupt and prevent (which are linked in the "negate" sa) if you are loosing to a cbn battle winner, the only ways to keep the opponent from rescueing is unkown nation, ls manipulation with dominants. and lastly, cm.
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: D-man on April 15, 2010, 05:53:24 PM
cbn means cbn. cbn is interrupt and prevent (which are linked in the "negate" sa) if you are loosing to a cbn battle winner, the only ways to keep the opponent from rescueing is unkown nation, ls manipulation with dominants. and lastly, cm.
Yes, but the question is if you have initiative to play an interrupt, whether or not it does anything.
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: Cousin It on April 15, 2010, 06:55:59 PM
Do the rules say you have initiative to interrupt if opponent plays a battle-winner unless that battle-winner is CBI?

Quote from: REG > Redemption Rulebook > Diagram of a Turn > Battle Resolution > Hero Wins
Your Hero wins if one of these condi­tions is met:

•      The Hero’s strength is greater than or equal to the Evil Character’s toughness, and the Evil Character’s strength is less than the Hero’s toughness. The Evil Character is discarded, and your Hero withdraws to your territory.

•      The Hero ignores the Evil Character. The Hero and the Evil Character each withdraw to his owner’s territory.

•      All blocking Evil Characters were removed from bat­tle. Surviving Heroes return to their owners’ territories.

All enhancements played during the Battle Phase (except set-aside or weapon-class enhancements, or cards placed on other cards during battle) are discarded to the respective owner’s discard pile. Assuming no dominants are played during Battle Resolution to prevent it, the rescue attempt is successful, and your opponent must select and surrender to you one available Lost Soul from his Land of Bondage.

The CBN Enhan removes the EC from the game.  You can only play an interrupt because that stalls your Hero from being removed til the interrupt is over.  If the Interrupt doesn't stall the removal, you can't play it.   :2cents:
Title: Re: CBN v. Interrupt
Post by: The Warrior on April 15, 2010, 08:22:35 PM
Do the rules say you have initiative to interrupt if opponent plays a battle-winner unless that battle-winner is CBI?

Quote from: REG > Redemption Rulebook > Diagram of a Turn > Battle Resolution > Hero Wins
Your Hero wins if one of these condi­tions is met:

•      The Hero’s strength is greater than or equal to the Evil Character’s toughness, and the Evil Character’s strength is less than the Hero’s toughness. The Evil Character is discarded, and your Hero withdraws to your territory.

•      The Hero ignores the Evil Character. The Hero and the Evil Character each withdraw to his owner’s territory.

•      All blocking Evil Characters were removed from bat­tle. Surviving Heroes return to their owners’ territories.

All enhancements played during the Battle Phase (except set-aside or weapon-class enhancements, or cards placed on other cards during battle) are discarded to the respective owner’s discard pile. Assuming no dominants are played during Battle Resolution to prevent it, the rescue attempt is successful, and your opponent must select and surrender to you one available Lost Soul from his Land of Bondage.

The CBN Enhan removes the EC from the game.  You can only play an interrupt because that stalls your Hero from being removed til the interrupt is over.  If the Interrupt doesn't stall the removal, you can't play it.   :2cents:
what dah barbeque ribs while doing gymnastics? o_O
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal