Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: asrgimli on January 13, 2014, 03:39:57 PM
-
Is a character whos ability makes another card CBI ability in itself CBN or just CBI? For example, is Amariah the High Priest, whos ability makes enhancements CBI, ability CBI or CBN?
-
The abilities are CBN.
-
why is that?
-
why is that?
All abilities that grand CBP/I/N are CBN
-
and why is that? what the the idea behind that ruling?
Also, thanks for the response. I was playing with my friend and I thought that this was the way that it was ruled and he wanted to know why, so he created the post.
-
More or less, the ruling was made for the sake of simplicity.
-
so is it just abilities that grant CBI/P status to other cards that are CBN?
-
Yes. This is why the CBP LS still works even when the Negate LS is in play.
-
More or less, the ruling was made for the sake of simplicity.
To elaborate on that, imagine if I have a card like Ram's Horn (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Ram%E2%80%99s_Horn_(Pi)) active, which makes enhancements used by my priests and WC heroes CBI. It is the middle of a battle, and I play Reach of Desperation (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Reach_of_Desperation_(H)) followed by Peace Treaty (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Peace_Treaty_(FF)) off of a WC purple hero, letting me ITB, draw 3, and then ignore a brigade.
All of this is now CBI, because of Ram's Horn, right? Well, now you play something like Dream (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Dream_(Pa)) to ITB, draw 3, and play Coliseum Lions (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Coliseum_Lions_(E)), not remembering about the ignore. So, you just play Destructive Decay (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Destructive_Decay_(Pi)) to negate and discard Ram's Horn. Now, did all of that stuff we just did that was CBI suddenly lose CBI status? And in the process, shouldn't that ITB off of Dream have interrupted the ignore, and allowed Coliseum Lions to discard a hero in battle?
I understand this example is convoluted, but it is just one such instance where there could be an issue with retroactively losing CB- status. Think about similar cases, like if you had the CBP Soul (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Jeremiah_11%3A8_(RA)) out, blocked a battle with Balaam (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Balaam_(Di)) and played Confusion (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Confusion_(Pr)) to discard opponent's SoG in deck, and then your opponent played Benedictus (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Benedictus_(Di)) on Asaph (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Asaph_(Pi)). The CBP Soul is now negated, so does that mean that the previously CBP Confusion is now prevented by Balaam, well after it would have been prevented if it were going to be?
Hence, simplicity and consistency in having this rule.
so is it just abilities that grant CBI/P status to other cards that are CBN?
Also those that grant CBN. So if it grants any CB-, then it is itself CBN.
-
Well, it's a separate game rule that abilities cannot gain or lose CBI/P/N once they're played, so even if Ram's Horn could be negated, the enhancements you already played would stay CBI. ::)
I guess making them all CBN was easier/simpler than saying "If it grants CBP status then it's CBP, if it grants CBI then it's CBI..." etc.
-
More or less, the ruling was made for the sake of simplicity.
Thanks to Redoubter and browarod for making my point... ;)
-
More or less, the ruling was made for the sake of simplicity.
Thanks to Redoubter and browarod for making my point... ;)
Department of Redundancy Department, at your service!
Proving proven points since 2014.
-
Think of it this way: Abilities that grant CB-anything function like identifiers, not abilities. Which I think is an accurate description anyways.