Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Chronic Apathy on July 09, 2009, 01:24:16 PM

Title: Carried into Exile
Post by: Chronic Apathy on July 09, 2009, 01:24:16 PM
"Capture a human (or two humans if used by a Babylonian)."

My opponent makes a rescue attempt and I block with a Babylonian, there are no other evil characters or heroes in play. I play Carried into Exile ("Capture a human [or two humans if used by a Babylonian].") Am I forced to capture my own evil character, or can I only capture his hero?
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: Professoralstad on July 09, 2009, 01:50:06 PM
It does not say "may" so you would have to do as much as you can, which in this case would mean you have to capture both. It would still count as a win for the EC though, since mutual by removal is a win for the EC. If you played it against a Jacob/Gabriel band, Gabriel would win the battle, since you are taking out yourself and Jacob.
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: TimMierz on July 09, 2009, 01:51:33 PM
I would normally agree, but I don't know if the "or" provides an extra option for Babylonians or an extra requirement for Babylonians.
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: BubbleBoy on July 09, 2009, 02:47:25 PM
the clause that says "(or two if used by a Babylonian)" is basically a trigger that changes the meaning of the ability. It's not the same as saying "may" in any way.
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: TimMierz on July 09, 2009, 02:51:49 PM
If used by a Babylonian, does it do
"Capture two humans."
or
"Capture one or two humans."
?
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: lightningninja on July 09, 2009, 02:54:46 PM
Hm... I wasn't aware that you can capture yourself. I've got to try to find an advantage to this...  ;D
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: The Schaef on July 09, 2009, 03:04:21 PM
If
(bBabylonian=True)
Capture = 2
Else
Capture = 1
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: Gabe on July 09, 2009, 03:10:00 PM
+1, that's have I understand it and have always played it.
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: Ironica on July 09, 2009, 03:27:31 PM
Hm... I wasn't aware that you can capture yourself. I've got to try to find an advantage to this...  ;D

Psst.....Raiders Camp ;)
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on July 09, 2009, 03:54:05 PM
Hm... I wasn't aware that you can capture yourself. I've got to try to find an advantage to this...  ;D

Psst.....Raiders Camp ;)

Psst.......... Really, really annoying decks.
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: BubbleBoy on July 09, 2009, 04:14:08 PM
Hm... I wasn't aware that you can capture yourself. I've got to try to find an advantage to this...  ;D

Psst.....Raiders Camp ;)

Psst.......... Really, really annoying decks.

Psst.......... That doesn't even work. :P
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on July 09, 2009, 04:22:21 PM
Psst............. It really does work. O_o
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: Professoralstad on July 09, 2009, 04:23:45 PM
He is referring to when you capture your own heroes. Like blocking with Idolators and capturing your Aaron would send Aaron to your RC, and when your opponent won a battle, Aaron would return to your territory. In this case it would not work, because you are capturing your EC; you are correct about that
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on July 09, 2009, 04:26:24 PM
Yes, RC can only capture heroes, not ECs.  But self capture to win battles does work.
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: lightningninja on July 09, 2009, 06:48:54 PM
Yeah, but that's completely irrelevent to the discussion. I'm gonna try to find an advantage to capturing my own EVIL character. Here goes...
Title: Re: Carried into Exile
Post by: Professoralstad on July 11, 2009, 12:40:34 PM
Well, if you need to give your opponent an LS, you could capture your EC and then use King Asnappar.

Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Pale Green • Ability: 11 / 7 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: You may capture an Egyptian or a Syrian, or you may transfer a captured character from your territory to opponent’s Land of Bondage.

SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal