Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: burlow on July 10, 2012, 09:28:13 AM
-
What is the ruling on capturing unique characters?
1) If I capture a unique character and place it in my land of bondage, can I also have the same character on my bench?
2) If not, do I get to pick which one is discarded?
-
Found this, assume it to be correct:
Captured characters retain their identity, therefore must conform to the restrictions of duplicates in play. Should a character by the same name be already in a player’s territory or set aside area, the holder of the duplicates determines which duplicate to discard.
So my follow up is this: if I capture a unique character and place it in my opponent's land of bondage, and they already have that character on their bench, do they get do pick which one is discarded, or do I?
-
Your opponent would choose, since they have control of the duplicates.
-
Correct, you can capture Moses, even if you control Moses. Previously you had to choose one to discard. That is no longer the case. Just as a captured Hero cannot be targeted as a Hero (think banding or Christian Martyr) a captured character does not count towards duplicates because it's treated as another card type (usually a Lost Soul).
-
Oh brother... nvm burlow. What I said and the REG said are both wrong. Go by the quote that Drrek gave.
Apparently it is time for me to stop hosting because my memory is not nearly good enough to keep up with rule changes made on these Boards.