Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jesse on February 11, 2017, 12:10:43 AM
-
If in T2 I had a 2 copies of a unique Babylonian in my land of bondage (captured) and 1 of that same character my territory, for Head of Gold's "X" do I have 1 or 3 Babylonians in play?
-
1 because it says evil characters and the captured ones are being treated as lost souls
-
Ok thanks!
-
I thought that land of bondage also meant in play, so if you have one unique Babylonian in your land of bondage, you cannot put another copy down in your territory.
M.L.
-
I thought that land of bondage also meant in play, so if you have one unique Babylonian in your land of bondage, you cannot put another copy down in your territory.
M.L.
This was changed quite a while ago, it was around Disciples because Samaritan Water Jar got changed where any duplicate characters revealed by it went back on top of deck instead of discarded. Now that I think about it, I remember using browns and Dungeon to Capture opponent' Samuel so he couldn't use him anymore, and this ruling stopped that.
All that being said, I thought there was a ruling that people still kept their identifier even when captured, but this could have been changed and I missed it.
-
I thought that land of bondage also meant in play, so if you have one unique Babylonian in your land of bondage, you cannot put another copy down in your territory.
M.L.
This was changed quite a while ago, it was around Disciples because Samaritan Water Jar got changed where any duplicate characters revealed by it went back on top of deck instead of discarded. Now that I think about it, I remember using browns and Dungeon to Capture opponent' Samuel so he couldn't use him anymore, and this ruling stopped that.
All that being said, I thought there was a ruling that people still kept their identifier even when captured, but this could have been changed and I missed it.
I thought that was after the Tins because I remember that ruling causing issues for Samuel's effect to put Saul/David in play if you already had one in play.
-
All that being said, I thought there was a ruling that people still kept their identifier even when captured, but this could have been changed and I missed it.
Most identifiers are kept. For example, captured Assyrians are still "Assyrians". This is why an Assyrian Survivor in a Land of Bondage still triggers Assyrian Siege Army. And a captured King Saul is still "King Saul", and thus would make Medium in Endor CBP (but would not trigger Doeg's discard).
It's primarily the good/evil/hero/evil character/character identifiers that are lost.