Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Arch Angel on January 21, 2009, 09:50:09 PM

Title: Captured or... not?
Post by: Arch Angel on January 21, 2009, 09:50:09 PM
so I was just wondering, do cards that send THEMSELVES to your oponent's LoB count as being captured? (eg: TAS, Servant Girl, etc) This question came about due to the REG's definition of capture (see below) and the fact that these cards don't seem to fully meet those qualifications.

This is important for cards such as Headquarters at Riblah which reference "Captured Heroes" or "Captured Characters" specifically.

Quote from: REG
Capture

Capture takes place when one card takes another card prisoner to a Land of Bondage or to a fortress.

Servant Girl
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Blue • Ability: 4 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If Servant Girl is about to be discarded in battle, instead place her in opponent’s Land of Bondage and treat her as a Lost Soul.

Recruiting Officer
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Red • Ability: 6 / 4 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: Hero has access to any Site. If defeated, place in opponent's Land of Bondage. Hero is treated as a Lost Soul.

War Officer
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: White • Ability: 5 / 6 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: Hero has access to any Site. If defeated, place in opponent's Land of Bondage. Hero is treated as a Lost Soul.

The Amalekites' Slave
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gold/Brown • Ability: 4 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If blocking, you may place this card in opponent's Land of Bondage to search your deck for a human Evil Character and add it to the battle.

Malchus
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 2 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If this character is discarded from battle, place him in opponent’s Land of Bondage and treat as a Lost Soul.

Headquarters at Riblah
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect Babylonian Evil Characters in your territory from discard. During discard phase, you may discard this Fortress to discard all captured Heroes in your Land of Bondage.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Gabe on January 21, 2009, 09:58:50 PM
I believe that in order to be captured it would have to be a capture ability that places them in the Land of Bondage.  There's nothing in the ability of these cards that says "capture" so I don't think they count as a captured character.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: SirNobody on January 21, 2009, 10:12:09 PM
Hey,

This was discussed briefly by the PTB at Nationals, but not consensus was made.

If you look in the REG you will find that all of those characters are listed in the "Capture Cards" section.

Servant Girl is either a Hero or a Captured Hero while it's in the opponent's land of bondage, and I don't know of any player that would say you could play Christian Martyr on a Servant Girl in a Land of Bondage so I think you are safe assuming that they are considered "Captured Heroes."

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly, WildCard Secretary of Defense
www.freewebs.com/redemptionne (http://www.freewebs.com/redemptionne)
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Arch Angel on January 21, 2009, 10:19:31 PM
What if they're technically something different, though? They're obviously not heros/ECs anymore, but I don't think you can justly say they're CAPTURED characters if there was no card used to capture them.

Maybe the definition of capture should be adjusted? Or a new 'grouping' for characters that induce themselves into lost-ness?
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on January 21, 2009, 10:25:58 PM
I think they are something different.

It is common sense they are no longer heroes/EC's, and the REG says capture takes place when one card takes another card prisoner to a Land of Bondage or to a fortress.

The word another would mean it cannot be itself, and therefore by the REG's definition it isn't a captured character.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on January 21, 2009, 11:45:57 PM
I would say they are. They surrendered themselves to be captured and to be ls, it was their WILL to do so (or else they'd lack the ability) but they did capture themselves.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Minister Polarius on January 22, 2009, 01:02:42 AM
Simple matter of missing old language in the REG. When that was written, there were no self-capturing cards. It just needs to be updated.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: The Schaef on January 22, 2009, 06:40:37 AM
Characters that are treated as Lost Souls, or captured and placed elsewhere (e.g. Raider's Camp) are Captured Characters.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: BubbleBoy on January 22, 2009, 07:51:42 AM
I always assumed that if a character was being treated as a lost soul, it was captured. I mean, even look at the names - Sedvant Girl, The Amalekites' Slave - they are all characters forced into bondage, both in real life and (if you get my jist) in the game. Otherwise, Kirk needs to take back that move where he gave me my own TAS with King Asnappar. ;)
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Captain Kirk on January 22, 2009, 08:15:03 PM
Uhh that is a completely legal play.  TAS was a captured character.

Kirk
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: BubbleBoy on January 22, 2009, 10:23:55 PM
Well...that's kind of the dispute here, in case you didn't notice my ;).
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on January 23, 2009, 09:10:08 AM
Rawrlolsauce! is correct.  Hero are only captured when something captures them.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: The Schaef on January 23, 2009, 09:31:11 AM
But that "something" can also be their own special ability.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Gabe on January 23, 2009, 09:54:13 AM
Even though I don't agree that characters that aren't captured should be treated as "captured characters" The Schaef is correct.  There is currently no other classification for a character that's being treated as a Lost Soul.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Arch Angel on January 23, 2009, 11:43:41 AM
Just because there isn't one doesn't mean one shouldn't be added in. either that or the definition of capture needs to be changed.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on January 23, 2009, 11:49:08 AM
I strongly believe cards like A-slave should not be treated as captured.  I agree a rule change is needed.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: SirNobody on January 23, 2009, 01:36:52 PM
Hey,

Based on the REG these cards are capture cards that have capture abilities.  They just don't have the keyword "capture" in their ability because the playtesters didn't want to make an ability that says "Servant Girl captures herself."

Cards like this that are printed in the future will likely have an ability along the lines of "Opponent must capture Servant Girl."

There are only three options currently as to what a card in a land of bondage can be: a lost soul, a site, or a captured character that is being treated as a lost soul.  The Amalekite's Slave is obviously not a lost soul or a site, so it has to be a captured character being treated as a lost soul.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly, WildCard Secretary of Defense
www.freewebs.com/redemptionne (http://www.freewebs.com/redemptionne)
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: BubbleBoy on January 23, 2009, 05:33:50 PM
I think capture should be redefined as causing a character to become a lost soul. That would be simple and would solve all dispute.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: The Schaef on January 23, 2009, 05:55:18 PM
So how do you put captured characters in Raider's Camp, Tartaros, Spiritual Realm, if the characters held there are NOT treated as Lost Souls?
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Tsavong Lah on February 10, 2009, 12:29:27 AM
Quote
I strongly believe cards like A-slave should not be treated as captured.  I agree a rule change is needed.

Why not? It allows a counter to a pretty powerful card.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: cforce44 on February 15, 2009, 02:24:12 AM
Captured Hero = A Hero who is currently held in land of bondage.  Game. Set. Match.

It would just make the game way more complicated than it needs to be if players have to start distinguishing between captured characters and self admitted to the land of bondage characters. So for those of you asking for a change to the rules wanting there to be a difference, you have to ask yourself, are you willing to hold yourself responsible for those people that shoot themselves in the face (figuratively speaking) because they cannot handle the mental stress you would put them under when they can no longer distinguish the difference between captured heroes and non-captured heroes that are in the same land of bondage?
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on February 15, 2009, 10:47:41 AM
Quote
are you willing to hold yourself responsible for those people that shoot themselves in the face (figuratively speaking) because they cannot handle the mental stress you would put them under when they can no longer distinguish the difference between captured heroes and non-captured heroes that are in the same land of bondage?
LOL!

It isn't really that hard; compared to other parts of Redemption, this is a tiny issue.  This isn't going to make the game too hard. lol

Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Master KChief on February 15, 2009, 12:44:28 PM
Quote
are you willing to hold yourself responsible for those people that shoot themselves in the face (figuratively speaking) because they cannot handle the mental stress you would put them under when they can no longer distinguish the difference between captured heroes and non-captured heroes that are in the same land of bondage?
LOL!

It isn't really that hard; compared to other parts of Redemption, this is a tiny issue.  This isn't going to make the game too hard. lol



speak for yourself; i cannot handle the mental stress.
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: Gabe on February 15, 2009, 01:12:16 PM
speak for yourself; i cannot handle the mental stress.

Please, John, put the gun down.  It's not worth it man! :D
Title: Re: Captured or... not?
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on February 15, 2009, 02:51:29 PM
Use a sticky grenade, its shinier.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal