Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Master_Chi on September 01, 2010, 09:50:23 AM

Title: Capture
Post by: Master_Chi on September 01, 2010, 09:50:23 AM
In the REG, capture is listed as an instant ability. The character targeted is immediately captured, no if's, and's, or but's. However, is capture negatable if only one Hero is in battle? Since the only Hero in battle is being captured, is there no way for the other player to negate the capture?
Title: Re: Capture
Post by: Professoralstad on September 01, 2010, 10:13:40 AM
In the REG, capture is listed as an instant ability. The character targeted is immediately captured, no if's, and's, or but's. However, is capture negatable if only one Hero is in battle? Since the only Hero in battle is being captured, is there no way for the other player to negate the capture?

You always have a chance to negate an instant ability unless it is uninterruptable, or it wouldn't give you initiative. If an instant ability would remove your only hero (or all your heroes) from battle, then you always have initiative to play an interrupt/negate before the ability actually completes.
Title: Re: Capture
Post by: TheJaylor on September 01, 2010, 10:47:58 AM
unless of course it can't be negated.
Title: Re: Capture
Post by: browarod on September 01, 2010, 11:15:45 AM
unless of course it can't be negated.
You always have a chance to negate an instant ability unless it is uninterruptable
Title: Re: Capture
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on September 02, 2010, 10:58:03 AM
unless of course it can't be negated.
You always have a chance to negate an instant ability unless it is uninterruptable

 ;D
Title: Re: Capture
Post by: Master_Chi on September 02, 2010, 06:03:58 PM
In the REG, capture is listed as an instant ability. The character targeted is immediately captured, no if's, and's, or but's. However, is capture negatable if only one Hero is in battle? Since the only Hero in battle is being captured, is there no way for the other player to negate the capture?

You always have a chance to negate an instant ability unless it is uninterruptable, or it wouldn't give you initiative. If an instant ability would remove your only hero (or all your heroes) from battle, then you always have initiative to play an interrupt/negate before the ability actually completes.

Do you mean that if my playing a capture doesn't give them initiative, then it resolves without them being able to play? Or that they have a chance to negate my capture unless it is CBN?
Title: Re: Capture
Post by: browarod on September 02, 2010, 06:09:55 PM
Do you mean that if my playing a capture doesn't give them initiative, then it resolves without them being able to play? Or that they have a chance to negate my capture unless it is CBN?
If a card effect doesn't pass initiative to your opponent, they don't get a chance to negate it with an enhancement when you play it and your ability resolves. If you then play something else that DOES give them initiative, they could negate the first card if they have a "negate an/any/all enhancement(s)" ability.
Title: Re: Capture
Post by: Master_Chi on September 02, 2010, 06:32:11 PM
Do you mean that if my playing a capture doesn't give them initiative, then it resolves without them being able to play? Or that they have a chance to negate my capture unless it is CBN?
If a card effect doesn't pass initiative to your opponent, they don't get a chance to negate it with an enhancement when you play it and your ability resolves. If you then play something else that DOES give them initiative, they could negate the first card if they have a "negate an/any/all enhancement(s)" ability.

So if it's a 2/2 Hero vs. my 1/1 EC and I play Snare (0/0, Capture any Hero in play and place it in your LoB.), they don't get a chance to negate it?
Title: Re: Capture
Post by: Professoralstad on September 02, 2010, 06:36:23 PM
Do you mean that if my playing a capture doesn't give them initiative, then it resolves without them being able to play? Or that they have a chance to negate my capture unless it is CBN?
If a card effect doesn't pass initiative to your opponent, they don't get a chance to negate it with an enhancement when you play it and your ability resolves. If you then play something else that DOES give them initiative, they could negate the first card if they have a "negate an/any/all enhancement(s)" ability.

So if it's a 2/2 Hero vs. my 1/1 EC and I play Snare (0/0, Capture any Hero in play and place it in your LoB.), they don't get a chance to negate it?

Removing all characters on one side of the battle automatically transfers initiative to the side that is being removed, unless it is self-removal (like with Death of Unrighteous, for example). So in your scenario, the Hero can play an interrupt/negate as long as the enhancement is interruptible.
Title: Re: Capture
Post by: Master_Chi on September 02, 2010, 08:03:50 PM
Kthanks.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal