Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on November 22, 2009, 12:52:02 PM

Title: Capture question
Post by: Crashfach2002 on November 22, 2009, 12:52:02 PM
I just had my first tournament, and I wanted to know if I ruled this correctly:

A player has Jacob in their territory, and plays a card that captures two heroes.  Can that player capture an opponent's Jacob, and then discard one of them, OR can the opponent's Jacob not even be targeted?
Title: Re: Capture question
Post by: YourMathTeacher on November 22, 2009, 01:43:38 PM
Since the following is in the REG under Capture, I would guess that you can, and then you get to choose which one is discarded.

Instant Abilities > Capture > How to Use

Captured characters retain their identity, therefore must conform to the restrictions of duplicates in play.  Should a character by the same name be already in a player’s territory or set aside area, the holder of the duplicates determines which duplicate to discard.
Title: Re: Capture question
Post by: Ironica on November 23, 2009, 03:14:56 PM
I though it was rules that when you capture a hero that you have in your territory, you had to discard your hero and not the captured hero.
Title: Re: Capture question
Post by: YourMathTeacher on November 23, 2009, 09:56:41 PM
I though it was rules that when you capture a hero that you have in your territory, you had to discard your hero and not the captured hero.

That may be the case, but I am not "in the know" of such a ruling. I am only going according to the REG.
Title: Re: Capture question
Post by: Gabe on November 23, 2009, 09:59:39 PM
I though it was rules that when you capture a hero that you have in your territory, you had to discard your hero and not the captured hero.

I've never heard of such a thing.  The previously quoted REG entry is accurate.  You can capture the character and then choose which one you want to discard.
Title: Re: Capture question
Post by: Crashfach2002 on December 01, 2009, 03:46:34 PM
Sorry to bring this back up but I noticed this post: http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=273.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=273.0)

According to what Guardian say on the bottom of the first page, your opponent's Jacob cannot even be a target to capture, because you cannot choose to "control" two of the same unique charaters.  So would the ruling be Jacob cannot be targeted?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal