Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: redemption collector 777 on April 04, 2015, 05:13:25 PM
-
Magic Charms part of SA: You may discard this card from your Magician during battle to capture up to two human Heroes.
Joseph before Pharaoh: If used by a son of Jacob , negate opponent's evil or neutral card. If it's human , capture it to opponent's LoB Otherwise , put it beneath deck.
1. If Reuben (a son of Jacob) entered the field of battle (with no blockers present yet) and then the opposing player tries to use Magic Charms (uses it when the magician is in their own territory) to capture the last Hero in battle , can the Hero play Joseph before Pharaoh and target Magic Charms by negating it and underdecking it?
-
Yes. Magic Charms capturing the hero in battle creates special initiative, which (thanks to a recent ruling) now allows the rescuer to play something like JBP to negate the artifact, even though the artifact was discarding itself.
-
Would you be able to play something that interrupted the battle to stop magic charms? Then play something to discard that character that held it?
-
Yup. SI says you can now you any interrupt or negate that interrupts or negates the ability causing SI and ItB interrupts the last ability used by the opponent which would be MC.
-
I don't think you'd be able to play an "interrupt the battle" ability unless the magician holding Charms is in battle. Then you can do it.
-
Interrupt the battle only interrupts ongoing abilities and the last enhancement played. Not artifacts. So I don't think it would interrupt it.
-
Interrupt the battle WOULD NOT allow you to interrupt a not-in-battle Charms. ItB ONLY interrupts effects activated in the battle:
The phrase “interrupt the battle” includes interrupting the following:
o all active ongoing abilities
o abilities that are defeating one of the characters you control in battle
o the last card played in current battle if it was played by your opponent.
Interrupt the battle only includes such abilities if they were activated on cards in the current battle.
However, you can use JBP against a Charms used outside of battle during SI (you actually could do that under the old SI rules as well, but that is moot).