Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SignoftheStar on May 15, 2012, 08:55:06 PM
-
Just so I have this down:
"Cannot be ignored" cannot be ignored, but it can be prevented. Seeing as in order to negate you interrupt, then prevent, can you negate "cannot be ignored"?
"Cannot be prevented" can be ignored, but cannot be prevented. Seeing as in negating you interrupt the "cannot be prevented" and then proceed to prevent it, I assume you can negate "cannot be prevented."
"Cannot be negated" cannot be negated. Seeing as "cannot be negated" should mean "cannot be interrupted or prevented," I assume you cannot interrupt, prevent, or negate "cannot be negated."
I'm sure this is asked frequently, but I think it's about time I had a concrete grasp on this. Thank you all for your continued assistance.
-
For the first part, do you actually mean Cannot Be Interrupted?
CBP - Cannot Be Prevented - Cannot be stopped by cards played before it. Can be interrupted/negated after the fact.
CBI - Cannot Be Interrupted - Cannot be stopped by cards played after it. Can be prevented (also includes ongoing negates) before the fact.
CBN - Cannot be Negated - Cannot be stopped.
Cannot be Ignored means that the cards it refers to are protected from being Ignored.
-
Yes, thank you, that is what I meant. All these conversations buzzing through mah brain.
Much like I assume you meant for that second CBP to be CBI.
So you CANNOT interrupt or prevent CBN, and you CAN negate CBI?
-
So you CANNOT interrupt or prevent CBN
Correct
, and you CAN negate CBI?
only if it is an "ongoing" negate played before the CBI ability.
-
Much like I assume you meant for that second CBP to be CBI.
So you CANNOT interrupt or prevent CBN, and you CAN negate CBI?
First part, yes, and corrected.
Second part, Korunks is right. It has to be in effect BEFORE the CBI card (see what I posted above).
-
Ok, I think I got it now.
Thanks again, you two.
-
Wait, u can Interrupt/Prevent a CBP card, because Interrupt and Prevent was the original meaning of negate.
-
Wait, u can Interrupt/Prevent a CBP card, because Interrupt and Prevent was the original meaning of negate.
"Interrupt and prevent" does mean negate (though it is important to note that it does not work in reverse), so yes, it does stop CBP.
But I just re-read this thread and see no slip-ups. Please quote what you're referencing, because I'm not seeing anyone say that you cannot interrupt or negate a CBP card.
-
From the 10th Anniversary Rulebook:
In the definition of Negate:
"Negate is the same as 'interrupt and prevent' combined. A negate ability interrupts a special ability, and then prevents that special ability for the rest of the battle."
However, while we are here:
Also from the 10th Anniversary Rulebook:
"Cannot be prevented: means that the special ability activates when the card is played, REGARDLESS OF ANY NEGATE OR PREVENT ABILITY THAT IS ALREADY AFFECTING BATTLE. However, a cannot be prevented ability can be interrupted or negated after it is played."
Cannot be interrupted: is the opposite. These special abilities can be prevented before they are played. But if they are not prevented before they are played, nothing can interrupt OR NEGATE THEM after they are played."
and
"If a card states that it cannot be negated, then it cannot be interrupted, prevented, redirected, or negated."
So in conclusion:
CBI: can be prevented/negated before being played, cannot be interrupted/negated after being played
CBP: can be interrupted/negated after being played, cannot be prevented/negated before being played
CBN: cannot be interrupted/prevented/negate before/after being played
Sorry everyone. I needed that.
For future reference, that it may be in the right place.
-
From the 10th Anniversary Rulebook:
In the definition of Negate:
"Negate is the same as 'interrupt and prevent' combined. A negate ability interrupts a special ability, and then prevents that special ability for the rest of the battle."
This is no longer true. Interrupt and Prevent = Negate, BUT Negate =/= Interrupt and Prevent.
It is its own ability currently, just think of it as an undoer :)
-
...I suppose I get it.
Interrupt for a moment undoes what is done, prevent undoes what is not yet done, and negate permanently undoes what is done.
And, regardless of what it is doing the undoing, CBI cannot be undone once it is done, CBP cannot be undone before it is done, and CBN cannot be undone.
To which I must say:
"But the power of the Ring could not be undone."
Which is to say, The Ring cannot be negated.
Better version, everyone.
-
I like that phrasing because it sounds wizardly, but the Negate needs an addendum. Negate permanently undoes what is done and what is not yet done.